Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

Labor and Employment Law Research Guide

This page provides select federal primary legal sources on Labor and Employment Law including legislative, judicial, and administrative law available on Westlaw Edge. Lexis+ provides comparable coverage of each listed source. The general public may access numerous sources via free web links provided.

I. Federal Legislative Law

United States Code Annotated (USCA) 

The United States Code Annotated (USCA) is an annotated version of the United States Code on Westlaw Edge. Lexis+ provides access to the annotated United States Code Service (USCS). The federal government provides a free version of the United States Code here.

 View select legislation on federal Labor and Employment Law:

II. Federal Administrative Law

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the federal administrative code as available with annotations on Westlaw. The CFR codifies rules promulgated by federal executive departments and agencies. Lexis+ also provides an annotated version of the CFR. The federal government provides a free version of the e-CFR here.

Federal Register 

The Federal Register as available on Westlaw. The Federal Register is a daily update on all federal regulations and agency actions. Lexis+ also provides the Federal Register. The federal government provides a free version of the Federal Register here.

Labor and Employment Administrative Decisions and Guidance  

Labor and Employment administrative decisions and guidance as available on Westlaw. Lexis+ provides comparable access to administrative decisions and guidance. Federal Labor and Employment agencies also provide free versions of administrative decisions and guidance on agency websites.

III. Federal Judicial Law

United States Supreme Courts Opinions 

U.S. Supreme Court Opinions as available on Westlaw. Lexis+ also provides these opinions. The U.S. Supreme Court website provides free versions of these opinions here.

Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals Opinions  

Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals Opinions as available on Westlaw. Lexis+ also provides these opinions. The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals website provides free versions of these opinions here