Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

Labor and Employment Law Research Guide

This page provides West Virginia primary legal sources on Labor and Employment Law including legislative, judicial, and administrative law available on Westlaw Edge. Lexis+ provides comparable coverage for each listed source. The general public can access numerous sources via free web links provided.

I. West Virginia Legislative Law

West Virginia Code Annotated 

West's West Virginia Code Annotated is the state annotated code available on Westlaw. Lexis+ provides access to Michie's West Virginia Code Annotated. The West Virginia Legislature website provides a free version of the West Virginia Code here.

 View select Legislation on West Virginia Labor and Employment Law:

  • §21 Labor
    • Labor legislation as available on Westlaw.  ​The West Virginia Legislature provides a free version of this legislation here.
  • §21A Unemployment Compensation
    • Unemployment compensation legislation as available on Westlaw.  ​The West Virginia Legislature provides a free version of this legislation here.
  • §23 Workers Compensation
    • ​Workers compensation legislation as available on Westlaw.  The West Virginia Legislature provides a free version of this legislation here.
  • §5-11-1 et. seq. West Virginia Human Rights Act
    • ​West Virginia Human Rights Act legislation as available on Westlaw. The West Virginia Legislature provides a free version of the legislation here.

II. West Virginia Administrative Law

West Virginia Code of State Rules (CSR)  

West's West Virginia Code of State Rules (CSR) is the state administrative code available with annotations on Westlaw. The CSR codifies rules promulgated by West Virginia administrative departments and agencies. Lexis+ also provides an annotated version of the CSR. The West Virginia Secretary of State website provides a free version of the CSR here.

West Virginia State Register 

The West Virginia State Register is the weekly update on all state regulations and agency actions, as available for free on the West Virginia Secretary of State website. 

West Virginia Labor and Employment Administrative Decisions and Guidance  

Select West Virginia state agency Labor and Employment administrative decisions and guidance as available on Westlaw. Lexis+ provides comparable access to administrative decisions and guidance. West Virginia Labor and Employment agencies also provide free versions of administrative decisions and guidance on agency websites.

III. West Virginia Judicial Law

West Virginia Judicial Law) 

West Virginia judicial law as available on Westlaw. Lexis+ also provides West Virginia opinions. The West Virginia Judiciary Website provides a free version of opinions here.