Legislation Analysis - Policy and Legislative Resources | Federal - Research Guides at West Virginia University

Congressional Quarterly Publications

Produces a number of publications reporting primarily on the United States Congress.

CQ Bill Analysis
Exclusive summaries and analysis of all major bills before Congress, including prospects for passage and related bills, and links to status and schedule information. Updated after major committee and floor action, as the bill changes.

CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the US Congress from 1945-2019, providing in-depth review and analysis of legislation and policy for each year, organized by policy area. Comprehensive roll call votes for all major legislation.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports and analysis on political and social issues, each covering a single theme and providing solid background information, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each 13,000-word CQ Researcher report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist.

Roll Call
The latest news and data on Congress and the White House and critical legislation affecting the United States.
CQ Committee Markup Coverage
News coverage of all open markups and many that are closed, including summaries of amendments and roll-call and voice-vote breakdowns. Comprehensive committee votes coverage is available within 24 hours of the markup. CQ Committee Coverage also includes listings of past hearings and meetings, with witness lists.
CQ Budget Tracker
Brings together all the latest news, bills, and analysis covering every aspect of the federal budget from across the CQ platform. Access draft appropriations bills before they've been assigned official bill numbers. CQ exclusive status reports provides insight into where each spending bill stands in the process, including committee reports, news, markups, votes, and more.
CQ Senate Action Reports
CQ Senate delivers legislative news and in-depth schedule information from the Senate floor. Features floor action summaries, inside the cloakroom tidbits and exclusives, explanations of unanimous consent agreements, and a general rundown on what's happening in the Senate.
CQ House Action Reports
Summarizes and analyzes every bill scheduled for floor consideration during the coming week. Legislative Day lists, in advance, every expected amendment to be offered that day on the House floor. Facts Sheets on key legislation summarizes the entire bill prior to floor debate. Floor Summary lists the changes agreed to on the House floor. Conference Summary identifies changes made in conference -- with details made available prior to release of the Conference Report.

National Journal

National Journal serves government affairs professionals with the intelligence and tools they need to save time, increase efficiency, and deliver success. With a focus on actionable research, insights, and custom content, National Journal keeps members informed about key movements in people, politics, and policy.

National Journal
Users can create free accounts by contacting Matt Steele.

Politico

Covers political news with a focus on national politics, Congress, Capitol Hill, the 2008 presidential race, lobbying, advocacy, and more. Politico.com's in-depth coverage includes video features, regular blogs, photo galleries, cartoons, and political forums.

Politico

The Hill

Reports and analyzes the actions of Congress, and how they are influenced by constituents, congressional leaders, the administration, lobbyists and the news media.

The Hill

New York Times

Get a subscription through the library to the NYT Online edition.

New York Times (Digital Edition) This link opens in a new window

Wall Street Journal

Get a subscription to the Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com), provided via the College of Business & Economics.

Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com) This link opens in a new window