Research Guides: Books: challenged, banned, and burned: Researching a challenge / ban

Open online sources

#Censorship articles at Book Riot
Researching Banned or Challenged Books: Resources for Challenge Research
List of books banned by governments Wikipedia list with lots of links to more in-depth sources
Lists of banned books Wikipedia lists by geographical location with references to other categories.

Articles

Selected article databases to research authors and challenged, banned or burned books

TIPS

If the default search results are unsatisfactory

try advanced search
experiment with search terms: more or fewer, synonyms, various combinations

If you feel stuck after trying multiple searches and databases

get support from the Libraries Ask a Librarian service

Education Source This link opens in a new window Education Source is a full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Education Database (from ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new window Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Full-text literary criticism and reviews and author biographical information on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to hundreds of academic journals and books. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Literature, language, linguistics, folklore references from the Modern Language Association. Includes references to journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Although full text is not included in the MLA Bibliography, the Find it @ WVU service provides links to full text from other databases when available.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source is the most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings; subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window LGBT Life provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of scholarly and popular lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender publications, plus historically important primary sources, including books, magazines and newspapers.

Newspapers

Newspaper databases to locate articles about book challenges and bans

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Access World News Research Collection (formerly America's News) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface. Includes 26 resources from West Virginia.
West Virginia Newspapers from Newsbank (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot) This link opens in a new window Includes the Dominion Post (Morgantown), Charleston Gazette, Charleston Daily Mail, Herald Dispatch (Huntington). Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

News databases
Many options to explore by geographic location and time period

Recommended news agencies online

These two sources are regularly at the top/center of the Media Bias Chart

Reuters

Associated Press (AP)

Search tips:

In Google site:reuters.com or site:apnews.com can be more effective than a site's search box

With the site: feature and for news, try the state, town, library, school, or book name, along with variations on banned books

Books: challenged, banned, and burned

Background reading for book banning and burning as a research topic

Explore book banning and burning as a topic or specific incidents in these sources for background reading

Open online sources

Open online sources

Articles

Selected article databases to research authors and challenged, banned or burned books

Newspapers

Newspaper databases to locate articles about book challenges and bans

Recommended news agencies online