TIPS
100 Banned Books by
100 Banned Books profiles well-known, often classic works that have been censored for religious, political, social or sexual reasons. Each entry gives readers a summary of the work, its censorship history and suggestions for further reading.
Banned Books by
Banned Books provides a balanced look at a hot-button topic. Explore the history and future of book banning and censorship, from Ancient Greece to the Comstock Law to the modern US Supreme Court. Discover why books are challenged and banned, as well as which titles have been challenged most often. Full-color photos, a glossary, an index, sidebars, primary source documents, and other creative content enhance the book. It also includes prompts and activities that directly engage students in developing the reading, writing, and critical thinking skills required by the Common Core standards. This well-researched title has a credentialed content consultant and aligns with Common Core and state standards. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.Core Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Banned books : defending our freedom to read
Provides a framework for understanding censorship and the protections guaranteed to us through the first amendment. Interpretations of the uniquely American notion of freedom of expression -- and our freedom to read what we choose -- are supplemented by straightforward, easily accessible information that will inspire further exploration.
Banned in the U. S. A. by
Since the first edition was published to acclaim and awards in 1994, librarians have relied on the work of noted intellectual freedom authority Herbert N. Foerstel. This expanded edition presents a thorough analysis of the current state of book banning in schools and public libraries, offering ready reference material on major incidents, legal cases, and annotated entries on the most frequently challenged books. Every section of this work has been significantly rewritten, updated, or expanded to reflect those developments. In-depth accounts of three new landmark book banning incidents are featured, along with a discussion of recent Supreme Court decisions involving censorship on the Internet and in book publishing, and a consideration of their implications for book banning in schools and public libraries. Two new interviews with authors of banned books--David Guterson and Leslea Newman--join the interviews with authors profiled in the first edition, many of which have been updated. The heart of the book is a Survey of Banned Books, revised with annotated entries on the 50 most frequently challenged books for 1996 through 2000; the Harry Potter series tops the list. Finally, all new appendixes feature an updated ALA list of Most Frequently Challenged Books and Authors Through 2000 and graphs that help to clarify key information.
Beyond Banned Books by
Equitable access to information for all, including underserved populations, is a core value of librarianship. The growing awareness of where this inequality persists has led many professionals to take steps to advance social justice within their institutions, from creating book displays about the Black Lives Matter movement or LGBT History Month to hosting programs by potentially controversial speakers. But while libraries are often well-versed in protecting the right to read books, many lack policies and experience in addressing censorship of resources and services. This resource from Pekoll, Assistant Director of the American Library Association's Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF), uses specific case studies to offer practical guidance on safeguarding intellectual freedom related to library displays, programming, and other librarian-created content. Essential for library directors, administrators, marketers, and programming staff, Beyond Banned Books spotlights case studies drawn from public libraries, schools, universities, and government agencies dealing with library displays, artwork, programs, bookmarks and reading lists, social media, and databases; summarizes possible complaints and controversies related to each area; draws connections between the intellectual freedom principles involved and associated legal issues, with relevant court opinions when possible; shares questions to consider when strengthening a library's defenses against censorship; discusses the importance of reporting challenges to OIF, and the professional and institutional support that OIF can provide when challenges arise; and includes key ALA policies on intellectual freedom as appendices. This guide will ensure that libraries are prepared to protect diverse voices from censorship while fostering more inclusive institutions that represent and welcome all people and ideas.
Literature Suppressed on Political Grounds by
Gives plot synopses of 105 works of fiction and nonfiction censored for their political content, and details the censorship history of each. Works covered include Black Boy, Gulliver's Travels, Inside the Company: CIA Diary, and One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich . Includes biographical prof
Literature Suppressed on Religious Grounds by
Discusses some 100 books that have been targets of religious censorship over the centuries, encompassing texts of the world's major religions, novels, and classic works of philosophy, science, and history, as well as contemporary works. Alphabetical entries describe the content of each work and rev
Literature Suppressed on Sexual Grounds by
Describes the content and histories of some 100 fiction and nonfiction works from many cultures and time periods censored on grounds of sexual content, illuminating changing attitudes toward the erotic through a survey of the legal fate of classic and representative works. Includes biographical pro
Literature Suppressed on Social Grounds by
From Uncle Tom's Cabin to East of Eden, and from One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest to I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, and more.
Teaching Banned Books by
Who hasn't read Blubber? And yet, published in 1974 and a New York Times 'Outstanding Book', it remains one of the 100 Most Frequently Challenged Books and is kept out of many school libraries. As a standard-bearer for intellectual freedom, the school librarian is in an ideal position to collaborate with teachers to not only protect the freedom to read but also ensure that valued books with valuable lessons are not quarantined from the readers for whom they were written. In this classroom- and library-ready book of discussion guides, award-winning champion of children's literature Pat Scales shows that there is a way to teach these books while respecting all views. The twelve books featured in Teaching Banned Books, all challenged at one time or another, are jumping-off points for rich and engaging discussion among young readers, their librarians and teachers, and their parents. Each guide includes a summary of the novel, a pre-reading activity, tips for introducing the topic, critical-thinking discussion questions, and an annotated bibliography of related fiction and nonfiction. Armed with award-winning books that kids love, you will: Stimulate critical-thinking in reading. Encourage freedom of thought and expression. Integrate 1st Amendment principles into project-based social studies and language arts. Communicate the value of banned books to administrators and challengers. There's a win-win way of teaching banned books, and Pat Scales shares it in this brilliant handbook for educators and school librarians who serve today's young readers.
