Nutrition Information Resources

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.

AccessPharmacy is a comprehensive online resource for pharmacy education. It includes several full-text books, case studies, interactive questions and answers, and functional calculators, as well as news relevant to the field of Pharmacy.

Research-based nutrition information about risk screening, diseases, nutrition care, conversion calculators, a formulary, materials for client education, and a link for resources.

The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is a publication of the American Dietetic Association. It contains research-based nutrition information and clinical tools available to dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals.

An online resource for pediatric nutrition care; includes calculators, a formulary, meal plans, client education materials, nutrition care for specific conditions, and risk screening materials.

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. It includes publications and resources regarding food and human nutrition.

CINAHL Complete is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL.

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. The database contains over 1,100 medical reference books and over 600 e-journals, in addition to drug monographs, guidelines, and patient education materials.

Clinical Pharmacology is an electronic drug information and medication management resource. This database provides up-to-date, peer-reviewed, clinically-relevant information on all U.S. prescription drugs, as well as off-label uses and dosage, herbal supplements, nutritional and over-the-counter products, and new and investigational drugs. The database is accessible from both the HSL's website and SOLE.

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.

This database was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 newspapers; a good place to find newspaper articles relating to nutrition.

Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.