Nutrition Information Resources

These publications by the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and the Consumer Healthcare Products Association present significant research (top 25 articles) in the dietary supplement field for the years 1999 - 2007.

This site from the National Library of Medicine has links to the latest news regarding supplements, general overviews of supplements, specific conditions for which supplements are used, and law and policy concerning supplements.

Sponsored by the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH). The Herbs at a Glance Series is particularly good.

MedlinePlus includes consumer information on over 100 herbs and supplements from The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Each monograph contains evidence-based, peer-reviewed data, and many contain illustrations. References are also included.

Herbs at a Glance is a series of brief fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information.

Sponsored by Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, this site provides objective, evidence-based information about herbs, botanicals, vitamins, and other supplements. Contains clinical summaries, adverse effects, interactions, and potential benefits. They have a beautiful app for iPhone/iPad called About Herbs that has information both for health professionals and consumers.

Abstract of an article appearing in JAMA September 17, 2003 to assess the information presented and indications claimed on the Internet for the 8 best-selling herbal products.

This site discusses CAM approaches and includes a section on Nutritional Methods.Special diets or supplements are sometimes used in the treatment of people with cancer. Examples that may benefit cancer patients are coenzyme Q10 and antioxidants.

This newly redesigned site presents reliable, science-based facts on dietary supplements; news & events; resources for researchers; and information about the composition and functions of supplements. Its fact sheets offer a current view of vitamins, minerals, and other dietary supplements, and many fact sheets are available in three versions: health professional, consumer, and QuickFacts. The site also includes FDA warnings and safety information.

A service of the Berkeley Wellness Letter. Provides claims, purported benefits, evidence, and the “bottom line” for ~35 popular supplements.