Research Guides: Nutrition Information Resources: Government Resources

Government Nutrition Websites

CDC: Healthy Weight
This site covers topics such as assessing one's weight, losing weight, maintenance of a healthy weight, physical activity, and the health effects of being overweight and/or obese.
CDC: Nutrition, Physical Activity & Obesity
This site presents a public health approach to address the role of nutrition and physical activity in improving the nation's health. Includes such topics as the 5-A-Day program, bone health, and how to start exercising.
Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (USDA)
CNPP provides national leadership and technical expertise for development of the Dietary Guidelines for Americans and the MyPlate consumer food guidance symbol. CNPP’s mission is to improve the health of Americans by developing and promoting dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers.
Choose My Plate
This site provides details about the USDA's new MyPlate initiative, which encourages proper food selection through sectioning of a plate, rather than using the old Food Pyramid.
Drug Information Portal
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, this website allows quick access to quality drug information for over 17,000 drugs.
FDA: Food Labeling and Nutrition
This site provides details about food and dietary supplement labeling requirements for industry and consumers plus status of proposed changes, health claims and other labeling issues. A food label quiz is available to test your knowledge.
FDA: How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label
A site to help consumers understand the Nutrition Facts Label on foods.
FoodSafety.gov
A gateway to government food safety information. Includes news and safety alerts, consumer advice, how to report illnesses and product complaints, and a section for kids, teens, and educators.
My HealthFinder
Government-sponsored guide to reliable health information, including topics related to prevention and wellness, diseases and conditions, and alternative medicine. Excellent links for Nutrition.
National Center for Health Statistics
A good place to find information about the health of Americans. Features include information on trends in aging, Fastats A to Z, growth charts, and Healthy People 2010.
National Heart, Lung & Blood Institute Health Topics
Information on heart and vascular diseases, lung diseases, blood diseases, and sleep disorders for patients, the general public & health care professionals. Includes excellent information on nutrition, physical activity, and behavior change.
National Institute on Aging
"What's on Your Plate? Smart Food Choices for Healthy Aging" provides plans for healthy eating, shopping tips, information on food safety, FAQs, and healthy lifestyle tips.
Nutrition.gov
Government gateway to nutrition resources, including food facts, lifecycle issues, research, health management, and food assistance.
Office of Dietary Supplements (NIH)
Information categories include Health Information, Research Programs and Information, Grant and Funding Opportunities, and News & Events. Fact sheets are available for various dietary supplements.
Recalls.gov
This is an online resource for government recalls. The FDA has jurisdiction over recalls involving food and pet & farm animal feed; the USDA regulates meat, poultry products, and eggs. Active recalls and safety alerts are posted here.
USDA: Food Data Central
FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research.
USDA: Food and Nutrition Information Center
The FNIC includes an A-Z list of Food & Nutrition Topics, resource lists for various nutrition subjects, links to sites that determine food composition, links to dietary supplement/herbal info, and a consumer corner. Updated daily.