Nutrition Information Resources

This site contains tools to assess your risk of overweight/obesity and to control your weight. There are links to a BMI Calculator and Menu Planner, as well as to sites discussing Portion Distortion, shopping tips, recipes, & sample reduced-calorie menus.

Provides nutrition information for persons with diabetes regarding making healthy food choices, label reading, the exchange lists, eating out, sweeteners, holiday meal planning, and recipes. Another section of the ADA site provides information on fitness.

Authored by Joanne Larson, Registered Dietitian, this is a collection of questions & answers on diet and nutrition topics. Visitors to the site can send in their own questions via email.

This page links to the 2015-2020 version of Dietary Guidelines for Americans, as well as to consumer pamphlets and brochures on how to put the Guidelines into practice.

Includes plans for healthy eating, shopping tips, and information on food safety and healthy lifestyles.

Sponsored by Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, this site provides objective, evidence-based information about herbs, botanicals, vitamins, and other supplements. Evaluations of alternative or unproved cancer therapies are included. Also available as a free app for the iPhone called About Herbs.

Herbs at a Glance is a series of brief fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information.

Sponsored by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, this site educates consumers about food safety. Includes a comprehensive FAQ section and a "How Safe is My Kitchen?" quiz. Has an accompanying free app for the iPhone called "Is My Food Safe?"

Includes information on over 100 herbs and supplements. Each monograph contains evidence-based, peer-reviewed data, and many contain illustrations. References are also included.

Links to reliable, authoritative government and non-government sites compiled by the National Library of Medicine. They are organized by nutrition news, general overviews, research, specific conditions/aspects, statistics, and web pages from the NIH.

This site provides access to information about nutrition, diet and health through links to articles, news, online courses, guides & publications, videos, and workshops.

Compiled by the USDA Food and Information Center, this site is a compilation of resources on vegetarian nutrition for the consumer.

This site provides the general public, health professionals, the media, and Congress with up-to-date, science-based information on weight control, obesity, physical activity, and related nutritional issues.