Skip to Main Content
Ask A Librarian

Legal Research at WVU: Libraries Resource Guide

undefined

The WVU Law Library consists of a first floor (ground floor) and a second floor. The Law Library offers extensive table seating, soft seating, and carrels available to all WVU patrons and the public.

Library Hours

The Law Library is staffed and open to WVU users not affiliated with the College of Law and to the public during the semester hours and summer hours listed below. The Law Library's staffed hours are limited over semester breaks and the Law Library is closed on home football game Saturdays. View the Law Library's full calendar here.

Semester Hours

Day of Week Library Staffed
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 A.M. - 8:00 P.M.
Friday: 8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 P.M. - 5:00 P.M.

Summer Hours

Day of Week Library Staffed
Monday - Friday: 8:00 A.M. - 4:00 P.M.

First Floor (Ground Floor)

The Law Library's first floor contains the library's main entrance, Circulation Desk, and numerous library tables. Library staff offices are located on the first floor. View the large video monitor by the library's main entrance for updates on library services, programming, and resources. 

The first floor print collection includes the following key resources: 

  • Core Legal Collection: Federal and 50-state primary and secondary legal sources.
  • West Virginia Collection: West Virginia primary and secondary legal sources.
  • Study Aids and Supplements: Comprehensive collection of leading law school study aids and supplements.
  • Career Services: Leading titles on planning for a career in law and "JD advantage" work. 
  • News and Magazines: Print news and popular reading content including leading newspapers and magazines.
  • Faculty Scholarship Display: Latest law review articles and books by College of Law professors. 
  • Legal Leisure Collection: Popular works intended for student relaxation including fiction with a legal theme, fiction and non-fiction with an Appalachian theme, and fiction and non-fiction by West Virginia authors.
  • Racial Justice Collection: Fiction and non-fiction works on racial justice and intersecting issues such as gender, class, and LGBTQ+ issues.

Second Floor

The Law Library's second floor boasts extensive table seating and soft seating next to floor-to-ceiling windows. The second floor also contains carrels. The second floor print collection contains monographs, general legal and multi-disciplinary titles, and practice-oriented secondary legal sources.

Print Collection Policies

View the Law Library's print collection policies here.