Skip to Main Content
Ask A Librarian

Energy and Environmental Law Research Guide

Federal primary legal sources on Energy and Environmental Law including legislative, judicial, and administrative law available on Westlaw. Lexis Advance provides comparable coverage of each listed source. The general public can access numerous sources via free web links provided.

I. Federal Legislative Law

United States Code Annotated (USCA) 

The United States Code Annotated (USCA) is an annotated version of the United States Code on Westlaw. Lexis Advance provides access to the United States Code Service (USCS). The federal government provides a free version of the United States Code here.

 View select legislation on federal Energy and Environmental Law:

II. Federal Administrative Law

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is an annotated version of the federal administrative code on Westlaw. The CFR codifies rules promulgated by federal executive departments and agencies. The federal government provides a free version of the CFR here.

Federal Register 

The Federal Register is a daily update on all federal regulations and agency actions on Westlaw. The federal government provides a free version of the Federal Register here.

III. Federal Judicial Law

United States Supreme Courts Opinions 

U.S. Supreme Court Opinions are available on Westlaw. The U.S. Supreme Court website provides free versions of these opinions here.

Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals Opinions  

Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals Opinions are available on Westlaw. The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals website provides free versions of these opinions here.