Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE)

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Although AGRICOLA does not contain the materials, thousands of AGRICOLA records are linked to online full-text documents, with new links being added every day.

The AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, and other types of materials. Together they provide worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature. In addition, AGRICOLA contains subfiles of related bibliographic citations that have been prepared by sources other than the National Agricultural Library, for example, the Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) and the American Agricultural Economics Documentation Center (AAEDC). These and other information centers and cooperators contribute subfiles to AGRICOLA covering special subjects. Pre-1979 AGRICOLA records are derived from the CAIN format; from 1979 on, MARC-formatted records are used to create the database.

CAB Abstracts is a database covering international issues in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences. The database contains over 3.5 million records from over 11,000 journals, books, conferences, reports, and other kinds of literature published internationally. CAB abstracts covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine, and much more.CABCD is the largest professionally-produced database covering international issues in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences. The database contains over 3.5 million records from over 11,000 journals, books, conferences, reports, and other kinds of literature published internationally.

Index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Also, cross-searchable with Web of Science databases.

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.

Engineering Village provides an easy to use, integrated interface for finding the engineering information you need. Engineering Village includes 5 independently searchable databases with journal citations, indexed and evaluated web-sites, up to date patent information, and technical engineering information including product information.

The IEEE Xplore Digital Library provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers(IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers(IEE).

Biopolymers Online provides a comprehensive overview of the occurrence, metabolism, and applications of all important biopolymer classes. This reference work treats processes for biotechnological production, isolation from organisms and modification, material properties and technical uses in areas such as chemical and food industries, medicine, pharmacy, and materials science. Covers the whole field of biopolymers from an application-oriented and biotechnological point of view and is comprised of approximately 180 articles with over 1500 figures and 600 tables Lists approximately 500 biopolymers and more than 3000 organisms related to the production of biopolymers. Also includes extensive patent information.

CINAHL Complete is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL.

Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data, with international coverage that gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Business research database, providing full text for 8,800 periodicals, including 1,100 peer-reviewed publications, plus company profiles. Subjects covered include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Industry market research reports, economic, and demographic data to support business research; reports include statistics, industry structure, product & customer segmentation, performance analysis, major players, market share, and 5-year forecast analysis for 680+ industries.

Primarily for searching in chemistry, but contains a wealth of materials in the physical sciences. Must create a free account to use.

Collection of citations and full text from the Association for Computing Machinery journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. It provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and full text articles on computer science and information technology.

The IEEE Xplore Digital Library provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers(IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers(IEE).

Engineering Village provides an easy to use, integrated interface for finding the engineering information you need. Engineering Village includes 5 independently searchable databases with journal citations, indexed and evaluated web-sites, up to date patent information, and technical engineering information including product information.

The IEEE Xplore Digital Library provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers(IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers(IEE).

SAE Mobilus provides full-text access to the current SAE Standards, SAE Technical Papers from 1998 to current, and SAE journals and magazines from 2008 to current. SAE publications cover the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Older SAE publications are indexed in SAE Mobilus but are not available full text. These may be requested through interlibrary loan.

The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s. The database is constantly expanded and enriched.

Subject access to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey and masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities.

Indexes research on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Geobase covers thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.

CINAHL Complete is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL.

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. The database contains over 1,100 medical reference books and over 600 e-journals, in addition to drug monographs, guidelines, and patient education materials.

Key database for secondary sources covering world history from 1450 to to the present. Excludes North American history which is covered by America: History and Life.

Covers North American (US and Canadian) history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews. America: History and Life covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals.

Easily search across the entire ReadEx historic documents collections from a single search box. These collections include American Historical Imprints (Civil War Broadsides and Ephemera, Evans, and the American Civil War Collection), American Historical Newspapers, American State Papers, House and Senate Journals, Senate Executive Journals, and U.S. Congressional Set.

INSPEC is a bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than seven million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage is from 1969 to present. The database is updated weekly.INSPEC is produced and maintained by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. It indexes journal articles, conference papers, books, technical reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology. The database includes information since 1969 and is updated weekly.

The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource will end on 12/31/2025. For assistance in identifying an alternative resource(s), please email  researchservices@mail.wvu.edu.

Articles from high impact research journals in each field of the social sciences, with option for cited reference searching to trace scholarship. (Part of Web of Science)

Easily search across the entire ReadEx historic documents collections from a single search box. These collections include American Historical Imprints (Civil War Broadsides and Ephemera, Evans, and the American Civil War Collection), American Historical Newspapers, American State Papers, House and Senate Journals, Senate Executive Journals, and U.S. Congressional Set.

Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.

Full text articles covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 34,000 searchable full text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 51 journals. Examples of titles offered in PsycARTICLES include: American Psychologist, Behavioral Neuroscience, Canadian Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychotherapy: Theory/Research/Practice/Training, etc. Coverage spans from 1987 to the present.

Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

ProQuest's Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource will end on 12/31/2025. For assistance in identifying an alternative resource(s), please email  researchservices@mail.wvu.edu.

Articles from high impact research journals in each field of the social sciences, with option for cited reference searching to trace scholarship. (Part of Web of Science)

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is an index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. It contains over 589,840 bibliographic records, including many with abstracts. The databases in this collection offer a global perspective covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Approximately 18,000 records are added per year. The geographic identifiers include global and broad regional levels as well as specific localities. One can search by species in a province, state, county, or even a community, park, lake, or stream.

Offers thousands of citations and abstracts from the world's research in aquatic sciences. An international network of information centers monitor serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature for content.

Part of Web of Science, this is a leading taxonomic reference and the oldest continuing database of animal biology.