Research Guides: Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE): General Databases

Some Databases

The following are some of our more general databases, that cover multiple subject fields. These can be a great place to start for your research, but we recommend using a more subject specific database (or search options), once you have narrowed down your topic.

Academic Search Complete
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
EbscoHost
All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines. Databases included are described on the database selection page. Many include links to full text of the articles indexed.
Google Scholar
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Links to library electronic resources are available to WVU students and faculty.
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
HeinOnline
Extensive collection of legal information, including international law resources.
JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, as well as books, primary sources, and high-quality images. JSTOR is full-text searchable and offers search term highlighting.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Sage Research Methods
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects, linking over 100,000 pages of SAGE's book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.