Research Guides: Mountaintop: Coal Mine Wars in West Virginia: Teach

Mine Wars Resources for Teachers

Archives and History Teacher Resources Lessons and supporting materials from the West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History
Battle of Blair Mountain: Topics in Chronicling America This guide provides access to material related to the “Battle of Blair Mountain” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers at the Library of Congress. In 1921, West Virginia coal miners revolted at Blair Mountain and forced President Harding to intervene.
Blair Mountain Analyze the events surrounding the "Battle of Blair Mountain" and their impact on unionization of the coal mines in West Virginia. Video with teaching materials from West Virginia PBS Learning Media
e-WV Guide for Elementary and Middle School Teachers The West Virginia Encyclopedia offers a selection of lesson plans designed by West Virginia teachers on a variety of topics. Plans are available for eighth grade and elementary students and make use of the resources found in e-WV.
Labor Unions and Working Conditions: United We Stand Lesson plan with links to all supporting materials from the Library of Congress
The Matewan Massacre Examine the events leading to the "Matewan Massacre" and the impact of the massacre on labor relations in West Virginia. Video with teaching materials from West Virginia PBS Learning Media.
Mine Wars Museum Teacher Resources
Paint Creek and the Mine Wars Examine the labor struggles that lead to the Paint Creek Mine War and its impact on West Virginia labor history. Video with teaching materials from West Virginia PBS Learning Media.
Teacher Resources at the West Virginia and Regional History Center Activities, lesson plans, and other resources for teachers using the collections of the West Virginia & Regional History Center Coal Expansion and Mine Wars
West Virginia Golden Horseshoe Database
When Miners Strike: West Virginia Coal Mining and Labor History Primary source set with teaching guide at the Digital Public Library of America.

Coal Mine Museums and Exhibitions

Find contacts to arrange and plan field trips, and discover more educational opportunities and support here

Beckley Exhibition Coal Mine and Youth Museum ride through the dark passages of a vintage coal mine with guides who are veteran miners and provide firsthand accounts of the daily responsibilities and travail of past and present day miners
Northern Appalachian Coal Mining Heritage Association dedicated to preserving the coal mining heritage of Northern West Virginia
Royce J. and Caroline B. Watts Museum preserving and promoting the social, cultural and technological history of the coal, oil and natural gas industries of West Virginia through the collection, preservation, research and exhibition of historical objects and archival materials
West Virginia Mine Wars Museum Group and School Tours We love to welcome school groups and tour groups to visit the West Virginia Mine Wars Museum! If you would like to bring your group to the museum, please contact us in advance to make arrangements.
West Virginia and Regional History Collection For an instructional session or class visit at the WVRHC, contact Miriam Cady, Instruction and Public Services Coordinator.