Log-in required
Authentication via IP address
Free source from the web
Contact WVU Law Library staff with seminar queries:
Phone: 304-293-5300
Email: wvulawlibrary@mail.wvu.edu
Ask A Librarian: https://www.law.wvu.edu/library/ask-a-librarian
The following secondary resources are useful for legal scholarly and doctrinal research typical in seminar courses. The law reviews and journals resources provide access to a full range of both historical and contemporary law review content. The other secondary resources provide access to core doctrinal research materials including treatises, legal encyclopedias, the American Law Reports, etc.
Westlaw – Law Reviews & Journals
Westlaw provides coverage of hundreds of law reviews and journals. Full coverage of older articles on Westlaw varies by title. Use HeinOnline for articles outside the coverage of Westlaw.
Lexis+ – Law Reviews & Journals
Lexis+ provides coverage of hundreds of law reviews and journals. Full coverage of older articles begins in 1982 and partial coverage for older articles varies by title. Use HeinOnline for articles outside the coverage of Lexis+.
HeinOnline – Law Journal Library
HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,600 law-related periodicals. HeinOnline also provides original versions of law review articles in PDF format, which facilitates cite-check accuracy. In addition to its collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, and foreign relations.
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: An Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 384,300 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 315,000 downloadable full text documents in PDF format. SSRN coverage includes law-related periodicals.
Westlaw’s comprehensive secondary source coverage includes treatises, legal encyclopedias, American Law Reports, Westlaw-specific 50-state surveys, and law reviews. Coverage of proprietary legal texts and treatises varies on Westlaw.
Lexis’ comprehensive secondary source coverage includes treatises, legal encyclopedias, American Law Reports, Lexis-specific 50-state surveys, and law reviews. Coverage of proprietary legal texts and treatises varies on Lexis.
Bloomberg Law – Secondary Sources
Bloomberg Law provides coverage of niche secondary sources including BNA Portfolios and BNA Manuals. Topics covered include antitrust, banking and finance, bankruptcy, IP, securities, and tax law. Coverage of proprietary legal texts and treatises varies on Bloomberg Law.
