Seminar Research at WVU College of Law

The following resources provide access to both legal news and popular news articles. ILLiad lending services are available if the full text of a news article is not available through a WVU resource. To locate additional news sources, see the full current awareness LibGuide at WVU Law available here: https://libguides.wvu.edu/law/currentawareness. 

I. Legal News Sources

Law360 

Law360 is a one-stop source for legal news.  It is available to all WVU College of Law affiliated students, staff, and faculty.  All Law360 content is also available via Lexis+.  

Westlaw and Westlaw Today  

The Westlaw news homepage aggregates legal news from sources on the Westlaw platform.  You may set up alerts or set the news homepage to appear as your start page when you log in to Westlaw.  

Lexis+ Legal News and Lexis+ Legal News Hub 

Search legal news by publisher, jurisdiction, or subject area on the Lexis+ platform.  You may also set up alerts to receive news items as they are published.  

BNA Law Reports 

BNA Law Reports are subject specific legal newsletters that deliver legal news via email.  They are now published by Bloomberg BNA and are available on the Bloomberg Law platform.  You must log in with your Bloomberg Law credentials to access the law reports.  

Law.com 

Law.com is a legal news platform for publications of ALM including the National Law Journal, American Lawyer, Supreme Court Brief, and Litigation Daily.  A total of 19 publications are available on this legal news platform.

New York Times: Law and Legislation 

"Times Topic: Law and Legislation" aggregates legal content from the New York Times legal.  Log in with your New York Times account may be required for some content. 

II. Popular News Sources

New York Times

• WVU Libraries provides digital access to the New York Times for all affiliated students, faculty, and staff.  Use your WVU credentials to create an account here: https://myaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/access. 
• The Law Library receives the New York Times in print which is available in the periodical collection on the main floor.
• Archives of the New York Times are available from multiple sources including: 
  • Lexis+ (6/1/1980-present) 
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2014) 

Wall Street Journal 

Digital access to the Wall Street Journal is available on the following platforms

• Lexis+ (6/13/1979 - present) 
• Proquest Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (2010 - present) 

Washington Post

​Digital access to the Washington Post is available on the following platforms: 

• Westlaw (1/1978 - present) 
• Ebsco Newspaper Source (2003 - present) 
• Off-campus access is available only to WVU Law students, faculty, and staff, at this proxy access link: https://wvu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.washingtonpost.com.

Charleston Gazette-Mail

• Archives of the Charleston Gazette-Mail are available from multiple sources including: 
  • Westlaw (1/1997 - present) 
  • Lexis+ (1/1/1994 - present) 
  • NewsBank (1996-2015) 

Dominion Post

• Archives of the Dominion Post are available from multiple sources including: 
  • Westlaw (2006 - present) 
  • Newsbank 2006 - present) 

Harvard Business Review

• The Law Library receives the Harvard Business Review in print which is available in the general collection. 
• Harvard Business Review is available in full text on the Ebsco Business Source Premier platform (1922 - present). 
• Sign up for newsletter content at https://hbr.org/email-newsletters.  No individual subscription required. 

​