Seminar Research at WVU College of Law

The following resources provide guidance and submission information for law students seeking to publish scholarly works in law journals. Students should discuss publishing considerations with pertinent professors or other academic advisors prior to submitting work. 

At this time, the College of Law does not subsidize student submissions on Scholastica or other fee-based platforms. Please see the resources provided below for law journals that accept emailed submissions of manuscripts in lieu of Scholastica submissions.

For information on submitting work for law student writing awards nationwide, see the Writing Awards page on this guide.

Information for Submitting Articles to Law Reviews & Journals 

This document contains information about submitting articles to law reviews and journals, including the methods for submitting an article, any special formatting requirements, how to contact them to request an expedited review, and how to contact them to withdraw an article from consideration. It covers 196 law reviews. This document includes information on which law journals accept submissions through email.

Submission of Law Student Articles for Publication 

This essay offers a number of suggestions for law students who want to publish their research papers. This essay also presents a chart of the policies of 196 law reviews with respect to whether they will publish comments submitted by non-law review members who are students at their home school or notes, comments or articles submitted by law students from other schools. The essay also links to sources discussing publication in online law review supplements or pocket parts.

Information for Submitting to Online Law Review Companions 

This document contains information about submitting essays, commentaries, reviews, responses, and other writings to online companions to the main law reviews and journals at over 60 schools. This document also indicates if student submissions are permitted and includes information on which law journals accept submissions through email.

Information for Submitting Articles to Specialty and Non-Flagship Law Journals 

This document contains charts with information about submitting articles to specialty (non-flagship) law journals at ABA-accredited law schools in the United States, including links to the journal's page, the accepted methods for submitting an article, special formatting or length requirements, whether the journal accepts outside student submissions, and whether the journal offers any non-traditional publishing options. It covers over 450 law journals. This document includes information on which law journals accept submissions through email.

Washington & Lee Law Journal Rankings 

The purpose of the W&L Law Journal Rankings is to provide a resource for identifying law journals by subject, country of publication, or ranking (where available), and to provide additional information to facilitate comparing and contacting the journals listed.

The print books below provide treatment on publishing student works, including manuscript preparation and submission strategies. The books are available in the Law Libary Collection.