Guide to Law Library Study Aids

Softbound - New, softbound print book.

This edition provides a wealth of new material drawn from summaries of and quotations from scholarly books and articles and case law. The subjects of this new material are rich in their range of topics. They include: * The "precautionary principle" * Summaries on tort rationales that range from references to Kantian philosophy and a riff on Harry Potter
* The relation of tort law to public law * Varied materials on consent * The duty question, including a summary of a recent Supreme Court case and scholarship in the area * Material on privacy ranging from Prosser's classification system to LGBT plaintiffs * The roles of race and gender in calculations of damages * A criticism of "tort reform" efforts
* Case law on the "baseball rule" with respect to spectator injuries. * Matters of topical "headline" interest include smartphones as distractions and certain aspects of publication of photos on the Internet. * Celebrities mentioned in items under different categories are Joan Rivers, Jesse Ventura, and Jim Boeheim.

This single-volume hornbook provides a comprehensive overview of tort and injury law. The book covers all of the major topics in tort law. Topics include liability for physical injuries, as well as emotional, dignitary, and economic harms. This newly-updated edition includes citations to hundreds of cases and statutes decided over the last decade, as well as references to the Restatement (Third) of Torts.

Mastering Tort Law is a succinct, practical guide to the intricacies of tort law. Functional in approach, it describes and illustrates basic tort doctrine, and provides students insights into more advanced tort theories. In an attempt to facilitate student learning, the book includes a Roadmap at the beginning of each chapter, and a Checklist at the end. The authors previously published a well-regarded casebook in the area, and have taught torts for many years.

A clear, concise, current, and authoritative explanation of all of the most important U.S. tort law doctrines, including those covered in first-year torts courses in law schools. Coverage includes tort law origins and objectives; causation; strict liability; negligence liability and defenses; intentional tort liability and defenses; special liability rules (premises liability, products liability, employers, etc.); damages; tort and contract; immunities; wrongful death and survival; defamation; privacy; misrepresentation.