Guide to Law Library Study Aids

This Concise Hornbook covers the main points of civil procedure that any student needs to understand, and covers them briefly but thoroughly enough to be understandable. It focuses on the material covered in a typical law school course on civil procedure, tied to no one casebook. It breaks down the subject of civil procedure along the standard lines: a brief orientation; then a lengthier overview of the stages of litigation, followed by a close inspection of the major procedural problems (governing law, authority to adjudicate, former adjudication, and complex litigation); and finally some reflections in conclusion. It discusses specific problems and illustrations, with the aid of generously sprinkled diagrams and special text boxes. Special attention was given to fitting the civil procedure course's main points together to form the big picture, with each topic ending in a section on the "big idea" (separation of powers, vertical federalism, horizontal federalism, full faith and credit, or procedural due process) that the student is supposed to take from the topic.

This overview of contract law explains concepts clearly and concisely, in an informal, humorous style. For ease of reading and understanding, the book refrains from including complex textual footnotes. Instead, the footnotes cite cases, with most including short quotations to substantiate assertions made in the text. The book also contains numerous examples and illustrations. Cross references enable readers to review concepts that constitute building blocks for the current material.

Winner of the American Association of Law Libraries' Joseph L. Andrews Legal Literature Award in 2010, Principles of Legal Research provides encyclopedic yet concise coverage of research methods and resources using both free and commercial websites as well as printed publications. It has been thoroughly updated to provide coverage of WestlawNext, Lexis Advance, Bloomberg Law, and other new resources. An introductory survey of research strategies is followed by chapters on the sources of U.S. law created by each branch of government, discussion of major secondary sources, and an overview of international and comparative law. Sample illustrations are included, and an appendix lists more than 500 major treatises and looseleaf services by subject.

LaFave's Principles of Criminal Law provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes and accomplice liability. The book also gives attention to subjects such as causation, insanity and conspiracy.

Cases and statutory law are updated and the material reorganized; conforms with modern law school courses in real property. Chapters open with brief outlines of the law encompassed within, providing an overview of rules in that area. This is followed by a series of factually-based problems designed to generate thoughts about how these rules could be applied in real life situations. Chapters then discuss statements of applicable law and analysis of legal issues raised, plus likely outcomes and current citations of the various laws.

This edition provides a wealth of new material drawn from summaries of and quotations from scholarly books and articles and case law. The subjects of this new material are rich in their range of topics. They include: * The "precautionary principle" * Summaries on tort rationales that range from references to Kantian philosophy and a riff on Harry Potter
* The relation of tort law to public law * Varied materials on consent * The duty question, including a summary of a recent Supreme Court case and scholarship in the area * Material on privacy ranging from Prosser's classification system to LGBT plaintiffs * The roles of race and gender in calculations of damages * A criticism of "tort reform" efforts
* Case law on the "baseball rule" with respect to spectator injuries. * Matters of topical "headline" interest include smartphones as distractions and certain aspects of publication of photos on the Internet. * Celebrities mentioned in items under different categories are Joan Rivers, Jesse Ventura, and Jim Boeheim.