Research Guides: Geography 102 Section 001: Find Recent News and Events

Database Search Tips

Library databases are available to WVU students and faculty. Here are some tips to help you find articles.

Search for keywords only - 1 or 2 words that represent the general concept of your topic
Review the results & refine them by date or by adding additional keywords if needed
Most databases offer ways to refine or limit on the left side of the screen
Think of synonyms or alternate search words if your first search doesn't work well
To find newest articles - look for the "sort" link to sort by "newest first"
Off-campus access to library databases will ask for your WVU login
See Sharing and Citing Your Sources for help in creating working links to the articles

See "Sharing and Citing Your Sources" for instructions on how to create working links to articles you find in these sources.

New York Times (Digital Edition) This link opens in a new window
Register with your WVU email for FREE access to NYT.com.
Wall Street Journal (2010 - present - Proquest Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.
Access World News Research Collection (formerly America's News) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface. Includes 26 resources from West Virginia.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Find newspaper articles from smaller cities and from international newspapers.