Health Professional's Guide to Popular Dietary Supplements by 
Natural Standard Herb & Supplement Reference: Evidence-Based Clinical Reviews by 
Natural Standard Herb & Supplement Guide by 
Natural Standard Herbal Pharmacotherapy: An Evidence-Based Approach by 
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs and Natural Supplements by
This essential handbook provides the busy health care provider with detailed information for approximately 300 commonly used herbal products and natural supplements, including 20 herbal products and natural supplements new to this edition. Arranged in alphabetical order, this resource incorporates authoritative information on common names, pronunciations, scientific names, origins, uses (reported and investigational), forms, dosages, contraindications, side effects and adverse reactions, interactions with herbs, drugs, foods, and lab tests, client considerations, pharmacology (pharmacokinetics, chemical components and actions) and references for every drug. With the increased usage of herbal therapies enjoyed by individuals, this handbook is packed with easy-to-find herbal information and is a must-have for any clinician. Features detailed information of over 300 commonly used herbal products and natural supplements Notes safety information from both the FDA and the American Herbal Product Association for each herb. Provides current, reliable, unbiased information, based on the German E Commission and other authoritative clinical sources. Includes up-to-date references for each individual herb with specific sources cited for doses, research, interactions, and pharmacokinetics. Features alerts to highlight critical information. Includes a unique, comprehensive Table of Contents with user-friendly cross-references for herbs with descriptive names (i.e. black hellebore/hellebore, black). Organizes herbs A-Z by common name of herbal product in natural order. Presents information in a proven, quick reference format similar to Mosby's Nursing Drug Reference. Provides an introductory chapter detailing key information on current issues with research, supply, harvest, manufacturer, storage, shelf life, and special population considerations for usage of herbals and supplements in general. Includes an Herbal Resources appendix listing useful websites and organizations in the herbal industry. Provides a Glossary of herbal terms to clarify dose and form terminology unique to herbals and natural supplements. Includes a Botanical Atlas illustrating various plant types and parts used in herbal preparations. Offers a comprehensive index containing all common and botanical names for herbals and natural supplements as well as all of the disorders that they are used to treat. Lists Poison Centers to aid in obtaining help quickly for potentially lethal use of plant products. Includes a Pediatric Herbal Use appendix with general guidelines and cautions regarding use of herbs in children. Provides an appendix listing many of the programs in the United States and Canada that offer training in complementary and alternative medicine. Offers endangered species information for rare and endangered herbs that should not be harvested. Highlights herbs not safe to ingest with a new Do Not Use Internally icon. Provides a pronunciation guide for common herb names to better familiarize with herbs currently in use. Features a Drug-Herb Interaction Table to supply information on known drug-herb interactions. Identifies Herb-Lab Test Interferences in each herb monograph to supply information on known herbal interferences on most lab tests in use today. A second color highlights critical information and makes it easier to find relevant information quickly. Features detailed information for approximately 20 new herbal products and natural supplements, including androstenedione, beta-carotene, calcium, folic acid, glutamine, and more. Includes new precautions, alerts, interactions, dosages, and client considerations to promote safe use of herbs and supplements.
