HN&F 610: Nutrition and Fitness: Finding Articles

An excellent database for full-text articles about a wide range of subjects

Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports and proceedings, as well as association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Many of its citations are full-text, but not all.

Primary resource for systematic reviews in evidence-based research/medicine.

This database provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health. The database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

A good source to use to find current fitness/nutrition articles in major newspapers.

MEDLINE is the same database as PubMed, but is available here in the EBSCO interface which allows easy links to "Find It @ WVU" and ILLiad.

An index of physical education literature from 1970 to the present; these abstracts contain a wide variety of content ranging from sports medicine to kinesiology to standardized fitness tests.

Excellent resource for topics relating to psychology. Journal coverage spans from 1872-present and includes over 2,000 titles.

SPORTDiscus offers bibliographic and some full-text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 600,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. The content also consists of multi-disciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre. International database with abstracts on sports, physical education, outdoor recreation, physical activity, and leisure literature. Related databases included in the subscription and covering the same subject area include Heracles (1975-1997) a French language database, Atlantes (1980-1996), a Spanish language database, and Catalogue du Musee Olympique, a catalog of the Olympic Museum in Switzerland.

Provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 high impact research journals. Contains the former Science/Social Sciences Citation Indexes back to 1900. Can be used for cited reference searching. Its companion, Journal Citation Reports, can be used to determine a journal's impact factor.