Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

Biomedical Laboratory Diagnostics

EndNote Basic

EndNote Basic is a bibliographic manager which will help you keep track of your references and format bibliographies in any style.

 

Step 1: Go to the EndNote Basic page

Step 2: Click on Don't have an account? Sign Up

  • To create your account you must use your WVU email address

Step 3: Install Plug-Ins

  • Click on the Downloads tab in Endnote
  • Cite While You Write™: allows you to insert references, and format citations and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers in Word. 
  • Capture Reference:  allows you to automatically import references into your EndNote library

Adding Citations from PubMed

In PubMed:

  • Select the references you wish to export.
  • Click the Send to link
  • Select Citation manager from the Destination list
  • Click Create File button.
  • Save the citations.nbib file to your desktop or anywhere that you will easily remember.

In EndNote Basic:

  • On the Collect tab, select Import References.
  • At File:, click the Choose File button & search for the citations.nbib you saved.
  • From the Import Option menu, select the correct database. For PubMed, choose PubMed (NLM).
  • At To:, select the group that you want to place the references in.
  • Click the Import button.

Creating a Bibliography

Create a Bibliography

  1. Select the Format Tab.  This will open the default page: Bibliography.
  2. Use the pull-down arrow next to References to select a group.
  3. Use the pull-down menu next to Bibliographic style and choose your format style.  TIP! AMA style is listed as JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association) in EndNote.
    • You can set your preferred citation format by clicking on Select Favorites. Scroll down to your preferred citation format (JAMA, APA, Chicago, MLA, etc.) and click Copy to Favorites.
  4. Use the pull-down menu next to File Format and choose how you would like to export the bibliography. Clicking on Save will download the file which you will then need to open. You may also click on Preview and Print to open the bibliography in another window which you can then copy and paste into your document.
    • RTF (rich text file): Will open the bibliography into a RTF word processing file (i.e. Microsoft Word)  ***recommended
    • Text File: Will open an unformatted bibliography into a notepad file.
    • HTML: Will open the bibliography into you default browser window.