Assignment Specific Resources

Researching Artificial Intelligence and Applications

Databases

Databases are collections of resources that are indexed and searchable. Subject-specific databases focus on a single academic discipline or a group of related disciplines. While they cover more specific topics within their subject area, they do not include the broad range of topics common to general databases.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers(IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers(IEE).
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of citations and full text from the Association for Computing Machinery journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. It provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and full text articles on computer science and information technology.

AI Conference Proceedings

Proceedings and Research papers from AI research conferences.

Government Sources

Government websites and agencies often provide valuable resources and research related to artificial intelligence (AI) and ethics.

NIST: Artificial Intelligence
NIST's website offers resources on AI ethics, standards, and guidelines, particularly focusing on the ethical considerations of AI technologies.
European Commission: AI Ethics Guidelines
The European Commission has a dedicated section on AI ethics, which includes guidelines, reports, and policy documents related to ethical AI development and deployment in the European Union.
United Nations: AI for Good
The United Nations hosts the "AI for Good" initiative, which focuses on leveraging AI for social good while considering ethical and societal impacts.

NGO Sources

These organizations often produce valuable reports, conduct studies, and engage in policy discussions related to AI ethics.

Future of Humanity Institute
FHI, affiliated with the University of Oxford, focuses on the long-term impacts of AI and AGI. They conduct research on ethics, governance, and safety in AI development.
AI Now Institute
AI Now conducts interdisciplinary research on the social implications of AI. They produce annual reports on the state of AI ethics, policy recommendations, and conduct research on AI fairness and accountability.
AI Ethics Lab
This lab is dedicated to the study and promotion of ethical AI. They publish research, host events, and provide resources related to AI ethics.
AI Now at Stanford University
This initiative at Stanford University conducts research on the social and ethical impacts of AI and publishes reports on AI accountability, transparency, and fairness.
The Partnership on AI to Benefit People and Society
The Partnership on AI is a consortium of organizations, including major tech companies, focused on AI ethics and safety. They publish research and guidelines on ethical AI practices.

Academic and Scholarly Journals

In addition to searching collections of resources, you can also browse and access articles through individual publications.

Browzine This link opens in a new window
Browzine Web allows your to browze WVU online journals by subject, or look up your favorite title. BrowZine can also help you create a personal virtual bookshelf of favorite journals.

Browzine | Artificial Intelligence
See all journals that library has access to under this subject heading.
Browzine | Business Ethics and Public Responsibility
See all journals that library has access to under this subject heading.

Ethics and Information Technology by Springer
This journal focuses on the ethical aspects of emerging information and communication technologies, including AI. It covers a broad range of topics related to technology and ethics.
AI & Society by Springer
AI & Society is an interdisciplinary journal that explores the ethical and societal implications of AI and related technologies. It publishes research on AI ethics, AI policy, and AI's impact on society.
Philosophy & Technology by Springer
This journal publishes articles at the intersection of philosophy and technology, making it suitable for discussions on the philosophical foundations of AI ethics.
Journal of Artificial Intelligence Research by JAIR
While JAIR primarily publishes research on AI and machine learning, it often includes papers that touch on AI ethics, fairness, accountability, and transparency.