Scholarly Sources

for Advertising and Public Relations

Subject Specific Resources

Databases are collections of resources that are indexed and searchable. Subject-specific databases focus on a single academic discipline or a group of related disciplines. While they cover more specific topics within their subject area, they do not include the broad range of topics common to general databases.

Advertising and Public Relations Databases
Listing of ADPR databases that library subscribes to.

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source is the most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
CIOS (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship) This link opens in a new window
Research databases from CIOS support research and education in communications-related disciplines (human communication studies, speech communication, rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, etc.)
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
This business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included.
ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data, with international coverage that gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Interdisciplinary Resources

Sometimes topics we are discussing are not contained to one specific discipline. In this case you will want to use a database that contains articles from the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. They are a great way to see who is talking about your topic and to expand your research.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals from around the world.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in both journals and books. Includes access to multimedia features, such as video, audio and supplementary spreadsheet files.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images. It has an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. Images are contributed by universities, museums, and community and private collections. JSTOR is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Online electronic books covering all academic disciplines.

Academic and Scholarly Journals

In addition to searching collections of resources, you can also browse and access articles through individual publications.

Browzine This link opens in a new window
Browzine Web allows your to browze WVU online journals by subject, or look up your favorite title. BrowZine can also help you create a personal virtual bookshelf of favorite journals.

Browzine | Advertising Publications
See all journals that library has access to under this subject heading.
Browzine | Public Relations Publications
See all journals that library has access to under this subject heading.

Journal of Public Relations Research by Taylor & Francis
Focuses on research related to public relations, including topics such as strategic communication, crisis management, corporate communication, media relations, social media, public opinion, and more.
Public Relations Review by Elsevier
Publishes research and analysis related to public relations and strategic communication.
Journal of Advertising by Taylor & Francis
Publishes research devoted to the development of advertising theory and its relationship to practice, across all types of advertising and issues in the field.
Marketing Science by INFORMS
Focuses on empirical and theoretical quantitative research in marketing.
Journal of Advertising Research by WARC
Research and findings for applications, new technologies and methodologies, and avenues of solution in advertising.
Journal of Marketing Communications by Taylor & Francis
Publishes research on all aspects of marketing and corporate communication, corporate and product-related branding and promotion management.