Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

Modern Congressional and Political Papers Collection

About digital collections

Digital collections contain digitized or born-digital materials from the archival collections. The digital collections created from the Modern Congressional and Political Papers Collection are not comprehensive, meaning they do not include everything in the archives. Usually the digital collections are comprised of a selection of materials. 

Senator John D. (Jay) Rockefeller IV digital collection

undefinedSenator John Davison (Jay) Rockefeller IV served the people and state of West Virginia for more than half a century. In 2014, he donated his papers documenting his 30-year career in the United States Senate to the WVU Libraries’ West Virginia and Regional History Center. Rockefeller came to West Virginia in 1964 as a 27-year-old VISTA volunteer in the small community of Emmons, an experience that shaped his extensive career in public service. He served in the West Virginia House of Delegates (1966-1968); as Secretary of State of West Virginia (1968-1972); President of West Virginia Wesleyan College (1973-1976); and Governor of West Virginia (1977-1985). In 1984 he was elected to the United States Senate and was reelected four times, in 1990, 1996, 2002, and 2008, before retiring in 2015. 

Selected photographs, legacy memos, and holiday cards are available online at https://rockefeller.lib.wvu.edu/.

Congressman Nick Joe Rahall II digital collection

undefinedCongressman Nick Joe Rahall II served the people and state of West Virginia for 38 years in the U.S. House of Representatives. In 2015, he donated his papers to the WVU Libraries’ West Virginia & Regional History Center. He began his political service in the early 1970s working in the cloak room of the U.S. Senate; as a staff member in the Senate Office of the Majority Whip from 1971-1974; and as a delegate to the Democratic National Conventions in 1972 and 1976. He was elected as a Democrat to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1976 to represent West Virginia’s Third District and was re-elected for nineteen terms, serving from January 3, 1977-January 2, 2015.

Selected photographs are available online at https://rahall.lib.wvu.edu/.

Governor Arch Moore Jr. digital collection

Arch Moore Jr. and Shelley Riley Moore served the people of West Virginia for more than 30 years. The archives at the WVU Libraries’ West Virginia and Regional History Center document Arch Moore’s career as a congressman and West Virginia’s only three-term governor, as well as Shelley Moore’s contributions as First Lady of West Virginia. Arch Moore served three terms as Governor of West Virginia (1969-1977, 1985-1989). He was an unsuccessful candidate for reelection for governor in 1988. Previously, he was elected as a Republican to five terms in the United States House of Representatives, serving from January 3, 1957-January 3, 1969. He was not a candidate for reelection to the Ninety-first Congress in 1968. He died on January 7, 2015, in Charleston, WV.

Selected photographs are available at https://moore.lib.wvu.edu/.