Research Guides: Bar Exam Prep: WVU Law Library Resources: Home

This Bar Exam Prep Guide provides study aids, supplements, and audio and video study materials available at WVU Law Library. Content coverage includes:

Bar Exam overview information;
WVU Law courses on bar subjects and bar skills;
Study aids and supplements in online and print formats;
Audio and video materials on bar subjects;
Past Bar Exams and an accompanying guide for locating questions by subject matter, and;
MPRE study aids in online and print formats.

View select Bar Exam prep books below available to WVU Law users via the online West Study Aids Subscription and online Aspen Learning Library and via the print Bar Reserve Collection on the Library's first floor. Bar Exam prep books provide guidance on such topics as curriculum planning, essay writing, and Bar Exam study strategies.

Strategies and Tactics for the MBE by Kimm Alayne Walton; Steven Emanuel
Call Number: Law Library Bar Reserve KF303 .W345 2020 (Online West Study Aids Subscription)
ISBN: 9781543805727
Publication Date: 2019-12-19
The Seventh Edition of Strategies & Tactics for the MBE has been carefully revised by Steve Emanuel and is full of up-to-date advice on how to analyze Multistate Bar Exam questions in all MBE subject areas (Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Real Property with Future Interests, and Torts).
Bar Exam Success: A Comprehensive Guide by Sara J. Berman
Call Number: Law Library General Collection KF303 .B452 2019 (Online West Study Aids Subscription)
ISBN: 9781641054621
Publication Date: 2019
The bar exam is not just another test, and this book is not just another set of instructions. This book is your personal success guide. Whether taking a UBE or a state-specific bar, students need to not only master the material but to train and prepare for one of the toughest high-stakes exam experiences around.
The Bar Exam in a Nutshell by Suzanne Darrow-Kleinhaus
Call Number: Law Library Bar Reserve KF303 .D37 2016 (Online West Study Aids Subscription)
ISBN: 9781634606189
Publication Date: 2016
This edition walks you through the entire bar preparation process from getting a head start during your last year of law school to taking the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it, to the larger question of what “portability” really means for the bar candidate.
Bar Exam Survival Guide by Michael Stockman
Call Number: Online Aspen Learning Library
ISBN: 1454837721
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
This brief, witty book gives examinees a real taste of what the bar exam experience feels like, from the first day of bar prep through the exam days themselves. The author shares strategies he devised to manage BarBri, the prep courses he took twice, explaining the strategies that worked for him, from how to get organized to specific advice about condensing notes. He offers study tips and practical advice about test days (such as what to bring) and how to manage stress and anxiety.
Acing the Bar Exam by Suzanne Darrow-Kleinhaus
Call Number: Law Library Bar Reserve KF303 .D369 2016 (Online West Study Aids Subscription)
ISBN: 9781634608060
Publication Date: 2016
Acing the Bar Exam provides candidates with a complete guide to the bar exam — from pre-planning considerations through bar review and sitting for the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it. Every aspect of the process is explained in detail and by example. The bar exam is de-constructed, section by section, where candidates are led through the steps they need to follow to succeed.
A Short and Happy Guide to the Bar Exam's Multistate Essay Examination (MEE) by Suzanne Darrow-Kleinhaus; Irene Crisci
Call Number: Online West Study Aids Subscription
ISBN: 9781683288572
Publication Date: 2019
A Short & Happy Guide to the MEE is shorter than other books on the bar exam because its sole focus is the Multistate Essay Examination. It is a one-source resource for what you need to maximize your performance on the MEE—not a generic essay writing guide, but a treasury of information, issue identification, and subject area frameworks tailored specifically for the MEE.

Bar Exam Prep: WVU Law Library Resources

Icons used in law library guides:

Chat with a Law Librarian