Research Guides: Indigenous Appalachia: Women's issues and activism

Native American and Indigenous women's issues and activism

Topics like marginalized women as victims of violence and murder are disturbing. If you find yourself overwhelmed when encountering these stories involving personal and generational trauma, you are experiencing a reasonable response. Please, allow yourself to feel free and disengage from the material at any time. Practice self-care and take some time away before deciding if you want to resume.

Articles and online resources

Alliance of Tribal Coalitions To End Violence Policies, projects, and resources to advance tribal sovereignty and safety of AI/AN women
Coalition to stop violence against Native women Our mission is to stop violence against Native women and children by advocating for social change in our communities. #MMIWG2S – Missing and Murdered Indigenous Womxn, Girls, and Two Spirit 4 out of 5 of our Native women are affected by violence today. The U.S Department of Justice found that American Indian women face murder rates that are more than 10 times the national average. Homicide is the 3rd leading cause of death among 10-24 years of age and the fifth leading cause of death for American Indian and Alaska Native women between 25 and 34 years of age. – Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Homicide
National Day of Awareness for Missing and Murdered Native Women and Girls U. S. Senate Resolution 144
National Indigenous Women's Resource Center Dedicated to restoring sovereignty and safeguarding Native women and children
National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls Canadian. Research rooted in Indigenous methodology, affirms the resistance and resurgence of Indigenous women and girls, including 2SLGBTQQIA people. Final report, publications, legal notices and records.
Senate Committee on Indian Affairs: Missing and Murdered: Confronting the Silent Crisis in Indian Country Video and transcript of the 2018 Oversight Hearing
Southwest Indigenous Women’s Coalition (SWIWC) Arizona tribal domestic violence (DV) and sexual assault (SA) coalition
StrongHearts Native Helpline Safe domestic, dating and sexual violence helpline for American Indians and Alaska Natives
Who Killed Anna Mae? By Eric Konigsberg. New York Times Magazine. April 25, 2014. It would take investigators a week to identify the body as that of 30-year-old Anna Mae Pictou Aquash, a principal in the American Indian Movement. AIM was the country’s most visible, and radical, advocacy group for Native American civil rights.

Recordings

Native American Women and the Women's Movement with Sharon Garcia and Hattie Wing Sharon Garcia, Northern Staff Representative for the State of Minnesota Indian Affairs Intertribal Board, and Minnesota Delegate to the National Women's Meeting and Hattie Wing, community program assistant for the American Indian Studies program at the University of Minnesota and Minnesota delegate to the National Women's meeting Date Created: 1977-08-11 Creator: University of Minnesota. Radio Station KUOM
Native American Women Forced Sterilization and Adoption with Pat Belanger Pat Belanger, United States delegate to the United Nations NGO Conference on discrimination against indigenous people of the Americas Date Created: 1978-01-09 Creator: University of Minnesota. Radio Station KUOM
WARN, Women of All Red Nations with Janet McCloud and Sherry Wilson 25 minute recording of Janet McCloud and Sherry Wilson, members of WARN, Women of All Red Nations, in 1979. From the University of Minnesota Radio Station KUOM
more...less...
details at: https://archives.lib.umn.edu/repositories/14/digital_objects/48087
Women of All Red Nations at the Equality Archive Women of All Red Nations (WARN) is an activist group founded in 1974 that grew out of the American Indian Movement (AIM). WARN was pivotal in bringing attention to issues impacting Native American women, especially in regard to forced sterilization. Comprised of over 200 women from 30 nations in its inaugural moment, WARN’s transnational coalition understood that Indigenous women “face the problems of forced sterilization; our children are being taken from our families and tribes; our culture is being destroyed; our treaties, which are the basis for our very survival, are being declared invalid by the U.S.; our young are being attacked through the racist education system imposed on us; our resources are being ripped off . . . The more we get our message through to the people of the world, the more difficult it will be for the U.S. to ignore its treaty obligations with us” (“let this be a WARNing,” off our backs, December 1978, p. 9).
more...less...
Equality Archive’s ongoing project is responsively built with Open Source technology and the principles of Fair Use. Each entry is composed by a feminist professor, artist, or activist and originally peer-reviewed by colleagues at the Feminist Press, now peer-reviewed by its own Collective of feminist specialists. This means that the content you find here is fact-checked and reliable. We believe free and open access to knowledge is feminist praxis. Our commitment to this praxis is published in Feminist Media Histories 3:3 (Summer 2017).

Lorelei DeCora Means, born Lorelei De Cora

Madonna Thunder Hawk playlist: interviews and speeches Collection of interviews and speeches

Collections of resources and sources

Association of tribal archives, libraries, and museums Sustaining and advancing Indigenous cultures. ATALM is an international non-profit organization that maintains a network of support for indigenous programs, provides culturally relevant programming and services, encourages collaboration among tribal and non-tribal cultural institutions, and articulates contemporary issues related to developing and sustaining the cultural sovereignty of Native Nations.
Indigenous archives collective Connecting people working with Indigenous knowledge sources in Galleries, Libraries, Archives and Museums
Rise Up! is a digital archive of feminist activism Rise Up! is a digital archive of feminist activism in Canada from the 1970s to the 1990s. We were part of a worldwide wave of liberation and anti-oppression movements that won some victories, changed some attitudes, and radically altered the gendered and political landscape.
Living Archives: 1960s-1980s Indigenous, Third World & Anti-Colonial Women's and Queer Transnational Solidarities | UCB Center for Race & Gender