Research Guides: Finance: Journals & Articles

Finance Basics

The Journal of Finance publishes leading research across all the major fields of financial research. Published six times a year, the journal is the official publication of The American Finance Association, the premier academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics.

Financial markets and portfolio management. (Note: 365 day embargo)

The official publication of the Swiss Financial Analysts Association, Financial Markets and Portfolio Management (FMPM), addresses all areas of finance, including financial markets, portfolio theory and wealth management, asset pricing, corporate finance, corporate governance, alternative investments, risk management, and regulation.

Journal of Economics and Finance

The official journal of the Academy of Economics and Finance. It publishes theoretical and empirical research papers in economics and finance. Its primary focus is on empirical studies utilizing recent advances in econometrics with an emphasis on the policy relevance of the findings.

Additional Journals:

ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data, with international coverage that gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business research database, providing full text for 8,800 periodicals, including 1,100 peer-reviewed publications, plus company profiles. Subjects covered include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
MergentOnline This link opens in a new window
Extensive company information, including SEC filings and executive background for US and international public and private companies.

Specialized Finance Resources

The resources in this section provide supplemental information for the more informational aspects of finance assignments.

EconLit (Discontinued) This link opens in a new window
The Libraries' subscription ended on July 1, 2023. For assistance in identifying an alternative resource(s), please email researchservices@mail.wvu.edu.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Covers legal, business, and news topics. Contains full text newspaper and magazine articles, company reports, SEC filings, analyst reports, etc.

USA Trade Online
USA Trade Online is a data tool provided by the U.S. Census Bureau that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data on more than 18,000 commodities.
EDGAR (SEC Filings & Forms)
The SEC's corporate filings search engine for financial documents filed by publicly traded US companies since 1996. Click on Search for Company Filings.