Research Guides: CE 332: Citation Mining AKA Citation Searches

Citation Searching

Citation searching allows you to:

Go forward in time with the topic by looking at articles citing a key article.
Go back in time with the topic by looking at articles cited in the key article.
See the importance of the key article by seeing how many times it has been cited.
See chronological peaks and valleys for the topic of the key article by looking at the dates it has been cited.
Identify institutions and geographic locations for the topic through an examination of who is citing the key article.

Citation searching goes beyond finding papers on your topic; it is a means of finding related information and of evaluating the importance of a single article.

Sources for Article Citation Searching

Use these databases to find out how many times an work was cited and who cited the work.

SciFinder-n
Scifinder-n is the most comprehensive source for citations to the literature of chemistry and related disciplines. It includes PatentPak, MethodsNowSynthesis, formulations, biosequence searching, and the RetroSynthesis Planner with predictive capabilities. It explores chemical substances by chemical names, structures, formulas, or CAS Registry Numbers and much more.
Web of Science

The Libraries' subscription to this resource will end on 12/31/2025. For assistance in identifying an alternative resource(s), please email researchservices@mail.wvu.edu.
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the Cited Reference Search. Also provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of high impact research journals from around the world.
ScienceDirect
Collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in both journals and books. Includes access to multimedia features, such as video, audio and supplementary spreadsheet files.
Google Scholar
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Links to library electronic resources are available to WVU students and faculty.

Google Books
Use Google Books to search by subject in the content within a book. You can also see where the book has been cited by another author. You can check to see if WVU owns the book by using the Find a Library link.