Human Resource Management General:
Human Resource Management General: (Key Terms from course textbook)
- Chief human resource officers (CHROs)
- Culture (high employee development cultures)/ (strengths-based culture)
- Brand
- Boss to coach
- Annual review
- Purpose
- Top-down leadership techniques
- Onboarding
- Reputation
- Diversity and Inclusion
- Fit-to-role
- Human capital management (HCM)
- Change management
- Servant leader
- Employee engagement
Conducting Primary Research
VEHICLE MANUFACTURER (General):
Notes (Matt & Supplemental Information):
- International export
- On-site vendors
- Foreign headquarters
- Highly competitive recruiting environment
TOPIC: VEHICLE MANUFACTURER Diversity Recruiting:
Notes (Deana M. - Presentation):
- Strategy to increase representation
- Head quarter's (HQ's) key performance indicators (KPIs)
- Population of demographics
- Rotating shift schedule
- Early development of interest (middle school, etc.)
- Partnerships
- Great wage & benefits
- Manufacturing perception
- Social media restrictions,
- Potential daycare facility
- Business partnering groups (BPGs)
- Intra-company transfer systems
Notes (Course textbook):
- Tribalism
- Ally network
- High risk blind spots
- Key hires
- Confirmation bias
- Groupthink
- Work style
- Social bonds
- Relationship map
- Fair performance evaluation
- Performance rating bias (personal or idiosyncratic bias; halo effect; the middle default; leniency and strictness bias; spillover effect)
- Champions network
Databases:
Search Terms:
To Get You Started:
TOPIC: VEHICLE MANUFACTURER Skilled Maintenance:
Notes (Stacy D. - Presentation):
Notes (Course textbook):
- Productivity
- Key hires
- Safety incidents
- Quality
- Applicants
- Onboarding
- Attract “recruit top talent;” hire “pick the stars;” onboard “affirm the decision;” engage “build strengths and purpose;” perform “drive expectations;” develop “coach career growth;” depart “positive exist experience”
- Diversity & inclusion
- Professional recruiting
- Professional network site
- Online job sites
- Employer ranking site
Databases:
Search Terms:
To Get You Started:
TOPIC: VEHICLE MANUFACTURER Female Leadership:
Notes (Teresa R. - Presentation):
- Diverse representation
- Recruitment & retention
- Educational video(s)
- Navigating difficult conversations
- Building confident vulnerability
- Workplace mentorship program
- Class curriculum (PowerPoint)
- Principles of female leadership
- Skill alignment & application
- Manage crisis situation
Notes (Course textbook):
- Productivity
- Key hires
- High-risk blind spots
- Prior experiences and achievements
- Pay gap
- Diversity: age, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, disability, lifestyle, personality characteristics, height, weight, family composition, educational background, etc.
Databases:
Search Terms:
To Get You Started:
- Jay, J. K., & Morgan, H. J. (2016). Strategies for Women in Leadership to Advance Their Careers. Employment Relations Today (Wiley), 43(3), 23–28 https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=119027477&site=ehost-live&scope=site&authtype=sso&custid=wviruniv
- Ivey, G. W., & Dupré, K. E. (2022). Workplace Mentorship: A Critical Review. Journal of Career Development, 49(3), 714–729. https://doi.org/10.1177/0894845320957737 https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=156728664&site=ehost-live&scope=site&authtype=sso&custid=wviruniv
UNIVERSITY (General):
- See WVU database IBISWorld https://databases.lib.wvu.edu/AtoZ
- Search for Colleges & Universities in the US - US Industry (NAICS) Report 61131A/ Educational Services
- Search for Number of college students - US Business Environment Profiles Report F601
- Search for Community Colleges in the US - US Industry (NAICS) Report 61121/ Educational Services
Notes (Tracey M.):
- Leadership & Organization Development, Benefits Strategy, Compensation, Employee Relations, Operations, HR Partners
- Service delivery model
- Shared services center (Tier 2)
- Centers of Expertise
TOPIC: UNIVERSITY Alumni Recruitment Campaign:
Notes (Tracey M.. - Presentation):
- Alumni target market
- Recent and not recent
- Partnerships
- Challenge recruiting qualified candidates
- Great resignation
- Cult brand
- Remote job postings
- Advantages of alumni
- Boomerangs
- Low unemployment rate
- Content creation
Notes (Course textbook):
- Attract
- Key-hires
- Hire
- Fit-to-role
- Onboard
- Culture
- Engage
- Generation Z
- Millennials
- Ally network
- "Relationship map"
- Alumni network
Databases:
Search Terms:
To Get You Started:
TOPIC: UNIVERSITY Hiring Experience:
Notes (Matt R. - Presentation):
- Underserved populations
- Equity
- Life cycle (internal and external)
- Inclusive language
- Accessibility
- Interaction
- Closed captions
Notes (Course textbook):
- Brand
- Diversity & inclusion
- Reputation
- Key hires
- High-risk blind spots
- Diversity: age, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, disability, lifestyle, personality characteristics, height, weight, family composition, educational background, etc.
- Defect
- Groupthink
- Disruption
Databases:
Search Terms:
To Get You Started:
TOPIC: UNIVERSITY ROI:
Notes (Amanda D. - Presentation):
- Corporations and organizations rely on data and statistics
- Data based decisions
- Utilize various recruiting channels
- LinkedIn recruiting licenses
- Source of candidate/ progression of candidate by source/ duration of tenure of candidate by source
- Accuracy
- Faculty to service worker
Notes (Course textbook):
- Automation/ artificial intelligence in hiring process
- Career fairs
- Professional recruiting services
- Recruiting events
- Professional network site
- Online job sites
- Employee ranking sits
- Data science
- Science-based insights
Databases:
Search Terms:
To Get You Started:
- Statista: Global Consumer Survey - Social media: LinkedIn users in the United States
- Statista: Global Consumer Survey - Social media: Facebook users in the United States
