Research Guides: Sociology: Find Journal Articles

Get Help from Your Librarian

she/her/ella

You can use Google scholar to find and access the full-text of articles from WVU Libraries' subscriptions.

If you are at an on-campus computer just look for the “find it @WVU” link next to the article title in your search results.

If you are off-campus you will need to go to the preferences link at the top of the Google Scholar search page and select WVU as your library.

Best Bets

The following databases are your best bet for finding articles from respected sociology journals:

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.

Other Useful Databases & Tools

Annual Review of Sociology
The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields.

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
An index of research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It covers a wide range of subjects of public interest, including civil rights, economic conditions, education, government, health, politics, religion, social conditions, women’s rights, and more.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Content from journals, books, dissertations, and reports related to psychology. Coverage spans 1887 to present.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Articles from high impact research journals in each field of the social sciences, with option for cited reference searching to trace scholarship. (Part of Web of Science)

Is your topic interdisciplinary? Find other database options here:

Comprehensive List of WVU Databases
Complete list of WVU-restricted resources from the Library's website. Search subject databases for journal articles, company information and more.