Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Soil Science by
Publication Date: 2007-11-27
The Encyclopedia of Soil Science provides a comprehensive, alphabetical treatment of basic soil science in a single volume. It constitutes a wide ranging and authoratative collection of about 160 academic articles covering the salient aspects of soil physics, chemistry, biology, fertility, technology, genesis, morphology, classification and geomorphology.
The Dictionary of Physical Geography by
Publication Date: 2000-08-30
The third edition of this comprehensive encyclopedic dictionary covers the whole field of physical geography and provides an essential reference for all students and lecturers in this field. Many of the entries are new or have been fully revised, with a large amount of additional material on relevant new themes and topics. The Dictionary includes coverage of geomorphology, climatology, biogeography, zoogeography, hydrology, pedology, the Quarternary, GIS, remote sensing and the human impact.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.