Scholarly Sources

Subject Specific Resources

Databases are collections of resources that are indexed and searchable. Subject-specific databases focus on a single academic discipline or a group of related disciplines. While they cover more specific topics within their subject area, they do not include the broad range of topics common to general databases.

Public Administration Databases
Listing of Public Administration databases that library subscribes to.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, and more.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration.
ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data, with international coverage that gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Legal Sources and Law Review Resources

Resources for scholarly analysis on legislative and legal matters aimed at an audience of legal scholars, law students, and professionals seeking in-depth legal analysis and research on specific topics.

Legal Source (Discontinued) This link opens in a new window
Legal Source offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni's search of Law Reviews and Journals. **Use the search option in the left hand column to limit your searches to just Law Reviews and Journals.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of legal information, including international law resources.

Interdisciplinary Resources

Sometimes topics we are discussing are not contained to one specific discipline. In this case you will want to use a database that contains articles from the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. They are a great way to see who is talking about your topic and to expand your research.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Collection of authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications in both journals and books. Includes access to multimedia features, such as video, audio and supplementary spreadsheet files.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images. It has an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. Images are contributed by universities, museums, and community and private collections. JSTOR is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Online electronic books covering all academic disciplines.

Academic and Scholarly Journals

In addition to searching collections of resources, you can also browse and access articles through individual publications.

Browzine This link opens in a new window
Browzine Web allows your to browze WVU online journals by subject, or look up your favorite title. BrowZine can also help you create a personal virtual bookshelf of favorite journals.

Browzine | Public Administration
See all journals that library has access to under this subject heading.

Public Administration Review by Wiley
Covers a wide range of topics within the field and often features influential research articles.
Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory by SAGE
JPART is known for its focus on theory and empirical research in public administration. It publishes articles on organizational theory, behavior, and public management.
Administrative Science Quarterly by SAGE
While not exclusively focused on public administration, this journal covers topics related to organizational theory and behavior, which are often relevant to public administration research.
Governance: An International Journal of Policy, Administration, and Institutions by Wiley
Governance covers issues related to the organization and management of government and public sector entities.
Policy Studies Journal by Wiley
This journal publishes research on public policy and administration, including topics such as policy analysis, implementation, and evaluation.
American Review of Public Administration by SAGE
Focused on public administration in the United States, this journal publishes research on various aspects of public management, policy, and governance.