Federal

Government Resources

Key Resources

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Full-text access to House and Senate Unpublished Hearings Parts A, B, & C.

GOVinfo
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of legal information, including international law resources.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.

CQ Press Library
CQ Press is a publisher of research about the American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. CQ Researcher includes reports on current affairs, social policy and other controversies back to 1923. CQ Almanac has analysis on the major legislation and actions of congress for each year since 1945. CQ Magazine provides in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983. Other collections include the Supreme Court Yearbook and Political Handbook of the World.
United States Government Manual | US
This manual is the Official Handbook of the U.S. Government. It includes mission statements, descriptions, organization charts, and contact information for agencies and offices, and independent boards, commissions, committees, and quasi-official agencies.

Legislative Branch

Finding Legislation

Use these resources to find and track bills, committee hearings and reports, legislative histories, and passed legislation.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Full-text access to House and Senate Unpublished Hearings Parts A, B, & C.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.

U.S. Congressional Documents | HeinOnline
Search through the Congressional Record, CBO documents, CRS reports, Hearings and Documents, and additional Congressional documents.
Find and Track Legislation | Nexi Uni
Search for and track federal and state legislation using Nexis Uni's interface.
Congress | US
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Users can also track committee information and hearings, browse the Congressional Record, and membership information.

United States Code

Access the the official compilation and codification of federal laws of the United States.

U.S. Code | US
The US Code contains the laws of the United States arranged by subject.
U.S. Code | Nexis Uni
Full-text and Annotated History | 1992 - present
U.S. Code | HeinOnline
Search the U.S. Code using HeinOnline's interface.

Executive Branch

The White House | US
The White House is the official residence and workplace of the President of the United States, located at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW in Washington, D.C.
Executive Branch | US
Listing of websites for all of the agencies, boards, commissions, and committees of the Executive Branch. This include the IRS, DOL, HHS, DOD, and more.
Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents | US
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection is composed of the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents and its predecessor, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.
U.S. Presidential Library | HeinOnline
This library includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and other documents related to U.S. Presidents.
American Presidency Project | UC Santa Barbara
Presidential documents into a single searchable database from UC Santa Barbara.

Federal Agencies

List of Federal Agencies
440 agencies listed and searchable.

Federal Register

The Federal Register is the official journal of the federal government of the United States that contains government agency rules, proposed rules, and public notices. Final rules that have been approved are added to the Code of Federal Regulations.

Federal Register | US
Official government website for the Federal Register. Free to use for the public. Users can comment on upcoming rules.
Federal Register | ProQuest Congressional
Search the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations using ProQuest Congressional's interface.
Federal Register | HeinOnline
Search the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations using HeinOnline's interface.
Regulatory Insight | ProQuest Congressional
Explore regulatory histories for individual federal statutes and Executive Orders from the Federal Register.

Code of Federal Regulations

The Code of Federal Regulations is the codification of the general and permanent regulations published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government of the United States.

Code of Federal Regulations | US
Official government collection for CFR updated annually. Free to use for public.
Regulatory Insight | ProQuest Congressional
Explore regulatory histories for individual federal statutes and Executive Orders from the Federal Register.
Code of Federal Regulations | HeinOnline
Search the CFR using HeinOnline's interface.
Code of Federal Regulations | Nexis Uni
Search the CFR using Nexis Uni's interface

Judicial Branch

U.S. Courts | US
The U.S. Courts were created under Article III of the Constitution to administer justice fairly and impartially, within the jurisdiction established by the Constitution and Congress. This section will help you learn more about the Judicial Branch and its work.
Supreme Court of the United States | US
The Supreme Court is the highest tribunal in the nation for all cases and controversies arising under the Constitution or the laws of the United States. The Court stands as the final arbiter of the law and guardian of constitutional liberties.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Supreme Court Yearbook This link opens in a new window
A collection of annual reporting on the actions and opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court with clear, in-depth analysis of every decision made by the nation's highest court since the 1989-1990 term and the justices who ruled on them.

U.S. Supreme Court Library | HeinOnline
Coverage of the U.S. Reports, which is the official source of United States Supreme Court case law.
Federal Judicial Center
The Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the judicial branch of the U.S. government. The Center was established by Congress in 1967 (28 U.S.C. §§ 620–629).

Research Agencies

Government Accountability Office | GAO

The Government Accountability Office is a legislative branch government agency that provides auditing, evaluation, and investigative services for the United States Congress. It is the supreme audit institution of the federal government of the United States.

Congressional Budget Office | CBO

The Congressional Budget Office is a federal agency within the legislative branch of the United States government that provides budget and economic information to Congress.

Congressional Research Service | CRS

CRS reports provide Congress with both anticipatory and on-demand research and analysis to support their legislative, oversight, and representational duties. All reports adhere to the core values of CRS; they are authoritative, objective and nonpartisan.

Primary Documents and Historical Collections

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Collections of declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events - including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions - from 1945 to the present.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.

Early American Case Law | HeinOnline
Contains the entire Federal Cases 30 book series (1894-1897) which contains more than 20,000 cases. Also included is the Trinity Series, which includes American Decisions, American Reports, and American State Reports.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1630-1800 This link opens in a new window
37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides provide primary source documents on nearly every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft.
Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877 This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents for research into the American Civil War - provides access to more than 150 newspapers, 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera. Extensive local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society during this tumultuous period.
House and Senate Journals, Series 1, 1789-1817 This link opens in a new window
Essential record of floor action from the early U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Includes matters considered on the floor, votes and other actions taken, executive department communications, and more.
Senate Executive Journals, 1791-1866 This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable record of the Senate's proceedings in executive session from the years 1791-1866. Covers the confirmation of presidential nominees, the ratification of treaties, the careers of military officers, and more. Illuminates key moments in American history as they occurred and influential government decisions as they were made.
Fold3 This link opens in a new window
Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents.
Eight Centuries This link opens in a new window
Eight Centuries is a comprehensive database aggregating vast scholarly indexes to journals, newspapers, books, documents, artwork, and images. This growing database contains 27,408,426 discrete links to primary source historical documents.

Public Administration

Government Information Librarian

Federal

Government Resources

Key Resources

Legislative Branch

Finding Legislation

United States Code

Executive Branch

Federal Agencies

Federal Register

Code of Federal Regulations

Judicial Branch

Research Agencies

Government Accountability Office | GAO

Congressional Budget Office | CBO

Congressional Research Service | CRS

Primary Documents and Historical Collections