Research Guides: Entrepreneurship &amp; Business Planning: West Virginia Business Development

Resources for West Virginia Entrepreneurs

WV Small Business Development Center
The West Virginia Small Business Development Center (SBDC) is a statewide network that provides essential information for successfully starting, expanding and growing a business.
West Virginia Development Office
The State of West Virginia's official site for business education & resources.
WV Resource Guide for Small Business [pdf]
The U.S. Small Business Administration's annual guide to resources for potential and existing small business owners in the state of WV.
West Virginia Business Resource Directory [pdf]
The West Virginia Development Office has prepared a comprehensive Business Resource Directory, which provides information on incentives and programs available to prospective and existing WV businesses.
Hive - Small Business Incubation for West Virginia
Based in Beckley, WV, the Hive is designed to help connect entrepreneurs with resources and expertise to help them develop their business ideas.
TechConnectWV
TechConnectWV is a non-profit coalition committed to the advancement of the innovation economy in West Virginia, focused on four technology sectors: advanced energy, chemicals and advanced materials, biosciences, and biometrics. TechConnectWV connects local governments, entrepreneurs, and researchers with services including business coaching, business plan development, market analysis, prototype development, computer-aided design, scale-up manufacturing, seed and early-stage capital.

U.S. Small Business Development Administration - WV District
The West Virginia District Office is responsible for the delivery of the U.S. SBA's programs and services in the state of West Virginia.
Small Business Administration
The SBA helps Americans start, build and grow businesses. In addition to providng a gateway to local SBA offices, the SBA website connects small businesses with educational resources, funding guidance, and information on winning government contracts.
BusinessUSA
BusinessUSA is a centralized, one-stop platform to make it easier for businesses to access services to help them grow and hire. Currently, the site includes resources from federal agencies and is slowly adding resources available through state and local governments as well as private-sector organizations.

Harris Directory of West Virginia Business
Call Number: REF HF3161.W4 W45
ISBN: 978-1630534813
Publication Date: 2016
Harris Directory profiles the most prominent manufacturer and service companies in the state. Companies are sorted by SIC code, city and alphabetically to offer multiple ways to look up any specific business within the area.

WV Demographics from WVU Bureau of Business Research
Dedicated to providing a one-stop access to demographics and demographics-related data concerning West Virginia and its regions.
e-WV: The West Virginia Encyclopedia
The West Virginia Encyclopedia is the comprehensive reference resource for the Mountain State of West Virginia.