Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science by
Publication Date: 2004-02-27
Reference work covering classic and modern studies in plant biology in conjunction with research, applications, and innovations in crop science. Online version features quarterly updates, keyword searchability, color graphics, and customized content views.
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment by
Publication Date: 2004-11-08
Encompasses information on the world's variegated soils, their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere. This four-volume set features thorough articles that survey specific aspects of soil biology, ecology, chemistry and physics. It contains visual resources such as photographs, figures, tables, and graphs in every entry.
Hortus Third by
Call Number: SB45 .B22 1976
Publication Date: 1976-11-15
The one essential authoritative reference work to the plants of North American horticulture. 23,979 entries with description for families, genera, and species, 10,326 cross-indexed synonyms. A large but uncounted number of entries for subspecies, varieties, forms, and cultivars. Notes on use, culture, and propagation. Hortus Third is for advanced horticulturists and others interested in cultivated plants, including horticultural and garden writers, gardeners, nurserymen, landscape architects, botanists, and professional scientists in universities, botanical gardens, extension services, and government.
Handbook of Agriculture by
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Provides up-to-date and practical coverage of new innovations in agricultural science, including soil science and chemistry, chemical and organic fertilizers, fruit tree cultivation techniques, plant cultivation and control, principles and methods for extensive crops, horticulture, and greenhouses. Contains abundant full-color photographs and drawings with explicative captions.
Atlas of American Agriculture by
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
This interdisciplinary atlas reveals the treasures and the bounty sheltered within America's hills, valleys, plains, grasslands, deserts, and forests. It takes a detailed look at the agriculture itself and also at its effects on the people and cultures of the land past, present and future. It may help the reader find out what's growing, who's growing it, and what important changes have occurred in crop output over the years. Maps, photos, and other materials help to illustrate each topic or region.
A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.
LC Subject Headings
Crops -- Encyclopedias.
Crop science -- Encyclopedias.
Plants, Cultivated -- Encyclopedias.
Plants -- Encyclopedias.
Soil science -- Dictionaries.
Glossary of Soil Science Terms
This Glossary of Soil Science Terms was an ad hoc committee of the Soil Science of America to provide a single glossary of terms for the various disciplines of soil science.
Glossary of Crop Science Terms
This Glossary of Crop Science Terms was developed by a number of ad hoc committees of the Crop Science Society of America to provide a single glossary of terms for the various disciplines of crop science.