Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.
LC Subject Headings
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionary of Landscape Architecture and Construction by
Publication Date: 2005-04-07
Defines the wide range of terms used in this diverse field. More than 7500 terms and 300 illustrations clearly exemplify construction and/or composition landscape elements.
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture by
Publication Date: 2006-05-04
Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to ziggurat, this authoritative dictionary of architecture covers all periods of Western architectural history, from ancient times to the present day. Beautifully illustrated and written in a clear and concise style, it also includes brief biographies of leading architects.
Fundamental Concepts of Architecture (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2014-02-28
This dictionary provides a vocabulary that allows the architecture discourse to go beyond the declaration of constructive relationships or the description of architectonic forms in familiar terms like "roof," "base," "wall," and "axis" or "proportion".
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Landscape and Urban Planning (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2010-05-21
This unique, multilingual, encyclopedic dictionary in two volumes covers terms regularly used in landscape and urban planning, as well as environmental protection. The languages are American and British English, Spanish (with many Latin-American equivalents), French, and German.
(Also available in print: SB469.25 .E53 2010)
Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture (Downtown Library) by
Publication Date: 2012-02-27
Now in full color--a thoroughly updated edition of the premier illustrated architectural dictionary Revised and expanded, the Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture, Third Edition, features 8,000 definitions, 4,000 illustrations, and biographies of hundreds of architects accompanied by classic examples of their work.
Encyclopedia of Gardens by
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
Encyclopedia of Urban America by
Publication Date: 1998-10-01
With well over 300 contributors and 500 entries, "Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs" details selected major cities, suburbs, people, places, concepts, contemporary issues, history, and development of urban America.
Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures (eBook) by
Publication Date: 2008-03-12
Learn about how ancient and non-Western cultures valued the environment, and study examples of ancient and non-Western architecture, gardening, obelisks, irrigation and water management, geography and city planning.