Research Guides: Insurance Law Research Guide: Secondary Legal Sources: Treatises, Journal Articles, Practice Guides, etc.

NAIC Materials

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) provides expertise, data, and analysis for insurance commissioners to effectively regulate the industry and protect consumers. Founded in 1871, the U.S. standard-setting organization is governed by the chief insurance regulators from the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and five U.S. territories to coordinate regulation of multistate insurers.

National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Proceedings

On Westlaw

On Lexis

NAIC Model Laws, Regulations and Guidelines

On Westlaw

On Lexis

All NAIC materials on Westlaw

NAIC.org Resource Center

Treatises and Handbooks

Couch on Insurance

Couch on Insurance reflects law and practices governing insurance issues today. It offers definitive treatment on practically all types of insurance, including life, property, health and accident, liability and indemnity, automobile, fidelity guarantee, contract guarantee, group, reinsurance, annuities, governmental life and disability, ERISA, and COBRA. Timely topics in the insurance industry are addressed, as well as insurance contracts, risks covered, and representations and warranties.

Available on Westlaw and in print in the Law Library.

Couch on Insurance - Forms

As part of the Couch on Insurance treatise, the Forms database is a collection of more than 1500 insurance forms organized in 9 separate Parts, and designed to assist attorneys in handling litigation of their insurance cases.

Available on Westlaw.

N ew Appleman on Insurance Law Library Edition

New Appleman on Insurance Law Library Edition is the authoritative source for understanding both the basics and the nuances of insurance law. This is the next generation of analysis from the name practitioners trust on insurance: Appleman. The New Appleman set is recognized as the most authoritative, comprehensive, and up-to-date source for analysis of insurance law in the United States.

Available on Lexis+ and in print in the Law Library.

Law and Practice of Insurance Coverage Litigation

Law and Practice of Insurance Coverage Litigation contains balanced, exhaustive insight and commentary to practitioners in general practice, corporate counsel, or government agencies. All aspects are covered

Available on Westlaw.

All Insurance Law Treatises Available on Westlaw

All Insurance Law Treatises Available on Lexis

Law Reviews and Journals

Insurance Law Commons (Digital Commons Open Access Network)

SSRN Insurance Law, Legislation & Policy eJournal

HeinOnline: Law Journal Library

Lexis+ Law Reviews and Journals

Westlaw Law Reviews and Journals

Insurance Law Encyclopedia Sections

American Jurisprudence 2d: Insurance

Available on Westlaw, Lexis and in print in the Law Library

Corpus Juris Secundum: Insurance

Available on Westlaw, Lexis and in print in the Law Library

Michie's Jurisprudence of Virginia & West Virginia: Insurance (on Lexis)

Available Lexis and in print in the Law Library

Hornbooks and Study Aids

Insurance Law in a Nutshell by Christopher French; John Dobbyn
Call Number: KF1164 .F74 2022
ISBN: 9781636595047
Publication Date: 2021-10-11
Insurance Law in a Nutshell is a clear, concise, and comprehensive discussion of the fundamentals of insurance law. It covers various lines of insurance such as Auto, Commercial General Liability, Health, Life, Property, Cyber, Directors and Officers Liability (D&O), Errors and Omissions (E&O or Professional Liability), Employers Liability (EPL), and Flood. It also covers topics such as the rules of insurance policy interpretation, coverage for intentional torts, insurable interest, claims submission/handling, duty to defend and settle, insurer bad faith, insurer defenses, loss valuation, guaranty funds, "surplus line" insurers, regulation of insurers, reinsurance, risk transfer, subrogation, surety bonds, and waiver and estoppel. This new edition also has new sections that discuss insurance for natural catastrophe losses as well as business interruption insurance, which includes a brief discussion regarding the COVID-19 business interruption coverage litigation. This new edition also has an expanded discussion regarding claims made insurance, which has become the dominant form of insurance for newer lines of liability insurance.
Insurance Law by James M. Fischer
Call Number: KF1164 .K374 2017
ISBN: 9780314289179
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
This treatise explains how certain principles or doctrines such as insurable interests, designation of insurers, and risk transference apply to property, life, liability, or other types of insurance. It also addresses insurance law issues and suggests lines of analysis to consider in order to better evaluate the merits of a claim. Other subjects include conceptualization, classification, marketing, indemnity, insurability, claim processes, and settlements. Also overviews insurance regulation, government sponsorship of insurance, and resolving disputed claims.
Understanding Insurance Law by Robert H. Jerry; Douglas R. Richmond
Call Number: KF1164 .J47 2018
ISBN: 9781531001285
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
This comprehensive Understanding treatise can be used as the primary course text or as a supplement to any insurance law casebook. Understanding Insurance Law is designed to make the substance of insurance law accessible to students and general practitioners who are unfamiliar with the subject. Prior editions of the book have been widely cited as authoritative by federal and state courts. The premise of this book's organization is that insurance law is best understood if its legal principles are arranged according to the various stages in the life of a contract. Part A considers the question, "What is insurance law?" Part B considers issues germane to the establishment of the contractual relationship between insurer and insured. Part C considers issues relevant to the performance of contractual obligations. In particular, this Part treats issues related to claim presentation in all lines of coverage and liability insurers' duties in a comprehensive fashion unmatched in any other single-volume treatise. Finally, Part D examines topics that defy easy categorization, including special problems in group insurance, special issues in automobile insurance, issues in reinsurance, and a chapter on excess and umbrella coverage.

Insurance Law Research Guide

Icons used in law library guides:

Chat with a Law Librarian

NAIC Materials

National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Proceedings

On Westlaw

On Lexis

NAIC Model Laws, Regulations and Guidelines

On Westlaw

On Lexis

All NAIC materials on Westlaw

NAIC.org Resource Center

Treatises and Handbooks

Couch on Insurance

Available on Westlaw and in print in the Law Library.

Couch on Insurance - Forms

As part of the Couch on Insurance treatise, the Forms database is a collection of more than 1500 insurance forms organized in 9 separate Parts, and designed to assist attorneys in handling litigation of their insurance cases.

Available on Westlaw.

N ew Appleman on Insurance Law Library Edition

Available on Lexis+ and in print in the Law Library.

Law and Practice of Insurance Coverage Litigation

Law and Practice of Insurance Coverage Litigation contains balanced, exhaustive insight and commentary to practitioners in general practice, corporate counsel, or government agencies. All aspects are covered

Available on Westlaw.

All Insurance Law Treatises Available on Westlaw

All Insurance Law Treatises Available on Lexis

Law Reviews and Journals

Insurance Law Commons (Digital Commons Open Access Network)

SSRN Insurance Law, Legislation & Policy eJournal

HeinOnline: Law Journal Library

Lexis+ Law Reviews and Journals

Westlaw Law Reviews and Journals

Insurance Law Encyclopedia Sections

American Jurisprudence 2d: Insurance

Available on Westlaw, Lexis and in print in the Law Library

Corpus Juris Secundum: Insurance

Available on Westlaw, Lexis and in print in the Law Library

Michie's Jurisprudence of Virginia & West Virginia: Insurance (on Lexis)

Available Lexis and in print in the Law Library

Hornbooks and Study Aids

Insurance Law Research Guide

Icons used in law library guides:

Chat with a Law Librarian

NAIC Materials

National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Proceedings

NAIC Model Laws, Regulations and Guidelines

Treatises and Handbooks

Available on Westlaw and in print in the Law Library.

As part of the Couch on Insurance treatise, the Forms database is a collection of more than 1500 insurance forms organized in 9 separate Parts, and designed to assist attorneys in handling litigation of their insurance cases.

Available on Westlaw.

Available on Lexis+ and in print in the Law Library.

Law and Practice of Insurance Coverage Litigation contains balanced, exhaustive insight and commentary to practitioners in general practice, corporate counsel, or government agencies. All aspects are covered

Available on Westlaw.

Law Reviews and Journals

Insurance Law Encyclopedia Sections

Available on Westlaw, Lexis and in print in the Law Library

​​​​​​​Available on Westlaw, Lexis and in print in the Law Library

Michie's Jurisprudence of Virginia & West Virginia: Insurance (on Lexis)

​​​​​​​Available Lexis and in print in the Law Library

Hornbooks and Study Aids

Available on Westlaw, Lexis and in print in the Law Library

Available Lexis and in print in the Law Library