Research Guides: Domestic Relations Law Research Guide: Secondary Legal Sources: Treatises, Journal Articles, Practice Guides, etc.

Treatises and Handbooks

F amily Law Update

Contains broad coverage of current issues in the realm of family law, including topics such as State Family and Medical Leave Laws, ERISA benefits, and premarital agreements.

Available on Westlaw.

F amily Law Checklists

A practical guide to domestic relations litigation, presenting the steps, options, and considerations for successfully completing a case.

Available on Westlaw.

C hildren & the Law: Rights and Obligations

Children and the Law: Rights & Obligations provides an in-depth analysis of children's legal rights as consumers, victims, and perpetrators.

Available on Westlaw.

C hild Custody Practice and Procedures

Using "best interests" as a guiding force, this title presents strategies for winning favorable decisions in all types of custody arrangements. Jurisdiction under the Uniform Child Custody Act and the Parental Kidnapping Prevention Act of 1980 is examined, as well as other jurisdictional issues and interstate custody matters.

Available on Westlaw.

Child Custody and Visitation

This national publication covers all custody and visitation matters handled by the family law practitioner including: Every phase of a disputed custody or visitation proceeding, effective use of expert witnesses, substantive law of custody and visitation, practical advice on management of a case, and analysis of UCCJEA, PKPA, ICWA, and the Hague Convention on Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction.

Available on Lexis+.

Lindey and Parley on Separation Agreements and Antenuptial Contracts

A complete source for family law agreement forms, including premarital, separation, and marital settlement agreements, as well as cohabitation and postnuptial agreements. Lindey and Parley also covers attorney-client fee agreements and related transactional forms. Streamlined and modernized to make your research more efficient, this resource includes nearly 600 easy-to-use forms.

Available on Lexis+.

A doption Law and Practice

A premiere treatise by the most respected name in adoption law, places local issues in broader context, provides information about interstate, state-federal, and international aspects of adoption, and is the acknowledged authority for dealing with the increased "constitutionalizing" of adoption law and practice.

Available on Lexis+.

Law Reviews and Journals

Family Law Commons (Digital Commons Open Access Network)

SSRN Family & Children's Law eJournal

HeinOnline: Law Journal Library

Lexis+ Law Reviews and Journals

Westlaw Edge Law Reviews and Journals

Hornbooks and Study Aids

Family Law in a Nutshell by John Myers
Call Number: KF505.Z9 K7 2022
ISBN: 9781685610401
Publication Date: 2022-04-25
Few areas of law practice cover as many issues as family law. The subject embraces marriage and divorce, annulment, custody of children, spousal and child support, complex property issues, paternity, domestic violence, adoption, and alternative means of reproduction. Each of these topics itself is complex. For example, within the broad subject of child custody lie the issues of interstate move away cases, international parental child abduction, and the impact of domestic violence on a parent's right to custody or visitation. In addition to purely legal issues, family law has a large psychological component, touching on some of the most important and sensitive aspects of human nature and interaction, such as, what is a family, what are the rights and responsibilities of parents toward children, and how should society respond to child abuse and domestic violence? All of these issues, and more, are discussed in this Nutshell. The book provides a thorough introduction to this challenging field of practice. As you prepare for the bar examination, check to see if family law is tested on the bar you intend to take. The Uniform Bar Exam tests family law. A number of state bar exams include family law. This book covers the family law topics you will encounter on the bar and in a family law course.
Examples and Explanations for Family Law by Robert E. Oliphant; Nancy Ver Steegh
ISBN: 9781543806960
Publication Date: 2018-12-29
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Family Law in Perspective by Walter Wadlington; Raymond O'Brien; Robin Wilson
Call Number: KF505.Z9 W33 2021
ISBN: 9781636590691
Publication Date: 2021-08-09
The Fifth Edition of the Perspectives book continues the focus of providing students, practitioners, and observers with insight into the ever-changing parameters of laws pertaining to family structure and responsibilities. Specifically, this book addresses, among other topics, nonmarital cohabitation, establishment of paternity, premarital and marital contracting, assisted reproductive technology, marriage, and divorce. Recent cases and federal and state statutes address specific topics such as surrogacy agreements, division of marital and nonmarital property upon dissolution of cohabitation or divorce, child support guidelines, and establishing custody rights through parenting agreements or what is considered in the best interest of the child. And there is a continuation of discussion illustrating equal protection, liberty interest, and free exercise in the context of same-sex relationships, the safety of partners and children, and termination of parental rights and possible adoption of minors. The Perspectives book seeks to provide the reader with a grasp of what is currently the law and a glimpse into where the law may be going.

Domestic Relations Law Research Guide

Icons used in law library guides:

Chat with a Law Librarian

Treatises and Handbooks

F amily Law Update

Contains broad coverage of current issues in the realm of family law, including topics such as State Family and Medical Leave Laws, ERISA benefits, and premarital agreements.

Available on Westlaw.

F amily Law Checklists

A practical guide to domestic relations litigation, presenting the steps, options, and considerations for successfully completing a case.

Available on Westlaw.

C hildren & the Law: Rights and Obligations

Children and the Law: Rights & Obligations provides an in-depth analysis of children's legal rights as consumers, victims, and perpetrators.

Available on Westlaw.

C hild Custody Practice and Procedures

Available on Westlaw.

Child Custody and Visitation

Available on Lexis+.

Lindey and Parley on Separation Agreements and Antenuptial Contracts

Available on Lexis+.

A doption Law and Practice

Available on Lexis+.

Law Reviews and Journals

Family Law Commons (Digital Commons Open Access Network)

SSRN Family & Children's Law eJournal

HeinOnline: Law Journal Library

Lexis+ Law Reviews and Journals

Westlaw Edge Law Reviews and Journals

Hornbooks and Study Aids