Research Guides: HISTORY 464: American Foreign Relations, 1941-: Government Docs

Government Docs

If you're using government documents, I highly recommend exploring the research guide linked above for tips and strategies.

Digital National Security Archive through ProQuest

Digital National Security Archive Database

unlocks a vast trove of important declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations.

Working in collaboration with the National Security Archive to preserve and widen access to this significant material, ProQuest has created a far-reaching, curated collection of U.S. official documents. More than 650,000 pages are included, with many gathered through extensive use of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act by The Archive.

Boolean Search Operators

AND: Narrows your search results by inclusion

OR: Expands your search results

NOT: Narrows your results by exclusion.

<https://sites.google.com/a/onalaskaschools.com/tech/boolean-search-tools>

US Government Digital Archives

U.S. Declassified Documents Online
The most comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.
Digital National Security Archive
Collections of declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events - including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions - from 1945 to the present.
ProQuest Congressional
Abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Full-text access to House and Senate Unpublished Hearings Parts A, B, & C.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Historic reports, documents and journals of the US Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. Digitization is on-going. When complete, coverage will extend through 1980.

Library of Congress: American Memory
Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Other Recommended Online Primary Resources

National Security Archive

Homepage

Search

Cold War International History Project

Homepage

Digital Archive

Foreign Relations of the United States: pre-1960

Homepage

Search Full-Text

Browse the Series

Foreign Relations of the United States: post-1960

Homepage

Search within Documents