Research Guides: HISTORY 464: American Foreign Relations, 1941-: Newspapers and Magazines

Digitized Newspapers

Useful historical online newspapers include:

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers

Primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Full digital images of the New York Times, 1851-2014, and the Wall Street Journal, 1889-2000

Economist Historical Archive

A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003. Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries

West Virginia Newspapers from Newsbank (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)
Includes the Dominion Post (Morgantown), Charleston Gazette, Charleston Daily Mail, Herald Dispatch (Huntington). Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
APS Online - American Periodical Series Online
APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II.