Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

Native American Studies Research Tutorial and Tournament

A guide to searching, obtaining, evaluating, and citing sources for your Native American Studies research assignment.

Activity to Build a Collection of Reliable Sources for Native American Studies Scholars

In this activity, you will

  • Demonstrate research skills exercised in this library guide to locate, evaluate, and document library and internet resources on a specific focus of your choice within the broad topic of Native American Environmental Justice.
  • Contribute two (2) to a collaboratively developed collection of carefully selected resources to share with students, scholars, researchers, and anyone wanting to learn about Environmental Justice in Indian Country.
  • Submit all required work in the survey at the foot of this page.

Instructions

  • Browse the Issue Overview links Environmental Justice: Native people and their land and natural resources (Topic/Policy Issues from NCAI
  • Identify some search terms to describe a specific aspect of the topic of interest to you.
  • Use the Library Databases for NAS Research to locate an electronic book OR online scholarly article you evaluate and find worthy to use in academic research.
  • Use library or other sources to retrieve a newsfeed, media item, report, website for a movement or exhibit, or collection of resources you evaluate and find worthy to use in academic research.
  • For each of these two (2) sources share

    • complete and correct citations in APA style

    • a working link to the source

    • one (1) sentence describing/summarizing the content of each contribution (see model)

    • one (1) sentence describing, in specific detail, the criteria and evidence you used to judge your submitted source a worthy contribution to a collection of scholarly resources for research

 

TIPS AND EXAMPLES

Search terms

  • Be mindful to mix and remix combinations and include Native Americans, Indian Country, Indigenous Populations, and or other variations you find in various contexts.
  • Experiment with
    • various terms and combinations 

    • suggested search terms and related terms and concepts you discover in the places you are searching 

Examples (feel free use these and/or others of your own)

  • Native Americans environmental justice mineral rights
  • Native Americans environmental justice water
  • Water rights
  • Environmental Movements
  • Environmental racism
  • Environmental violence
  • Bioregionalism
  • Deep ecology
  • Democracy and environmentalism
  • Ecoterrorism
  • Environmental justice
  • Green movement
  • Internet and environmentalism
  • Anti-environmentalism
  • Sustainable living
  • Economic aspects
  • Environmentalism--International cooperation
  • Environmentalism--Political aspects
  • Environmentalism--Psychological aspects 
  • Climate change
  • Climate crisis
  • Indigenous Populations
  • In-justice
  • Climate justice
  • Just sustainabilities

For a fun place to explore and do additional background reading on topics, (completely optional) try CREDO Reference

Evaluating Sources

  • Apply the investigation methods into the reliability of the source that you practiced in 5: Compare Sources
  • Select an item of interest to you that you judged reliable in the context of academic research

DELIVERABLES: Submit two (2) sources - one source type from each of these columns :  

Source types

Your first source will be a library book or scholarly article: Your second source will be one of these formats:
  • Library books available at WVU
  • Scholarly articles in journals that are either available through the libraries or are open access 
  • Newsfeeds
  • Media [videos, webinars, podcasts]
  • Tribal and U.S. Government Reports and Dashboards [statistics, graphs, maps]
  • Actions, Movements, Campaigns, Exhibits
  • Collections of Links to Resources

APA Style Citation

  • Follow guidelines and examples on the APA Style Guide or the Purdue OWL
  • Use an online citation generator (such as BibMe)
  • Use the citation function in library databases (look for cite or "" double quotes while viewing the item record)
  • Stuck? Ask-a-Librarian for assistance

Library Databases for NAS Research

Note ABOUT ACCESS

Many library sources are available only to WVU users. You may be prompted to authenticate with your WVU ID and DUO 2-factor identification. 

Library Sources for Your NAS Research

Experiment with your search terms in these three library databases to locate academic sources for your research.

If you get stuck, chat with us at Ask-a-Librarian.

Search America: History & Life

Web of Science

Copyright 2014 Thomson Reuters   

Government Sites, Media, Campaigns and More

 

 

Internet Searching

Greener and Socially Conscious Search Engines