Undefeated Exhibit Open Educational Resources

TedEd lesson with an animated video about the historic women’s suffrage march on Washington. Details how Black women were excluded. Includes transcript in 18 languages.

Essay describing African American voting rights with links to oral histories within the Civil Rights History Project.

Research guide about newspaper articles about Elizabeth Cady Stanton in Chronicling America highlighting key dates and links to search tips. Click “Search Strategies & Selected Articles” for links to relevant articles about Elizabeth Cady Stanton.

Research guide about newspaper articles about the 19th Amendment in Chronicling America highlighting key dates and links to search tips. Click “Search Strategies & Selected Articles” for links to relevant articles about the 19th Amendment.

Collection of 1,935 digitized items representing newspapers, books, pamphlets, scrapbooks, and proceedings from the meetings of various women’s organizations that document the fight for suffrage. Users should note that the collection mirrors the biases of NAWSA's membership. For the most part, it represents the concerns of well-educated, middle- and upper-class white women living in the North, and especially in New England. There is little in the collection to document the role of Southern women or women of color. Working-class women receive a slightly larger share of attention, but, for the most part, the collection details the experiences of the affluent white women who formed the suffrage campaign's leadership cadre.

Collection of nearly 500 photographs from the Records of the National Woman’s Party from 1875 to 1938 documenting picketing, pageants, parades, demonstrations, hunger strikes, imprisonment, and more.

Collection of over 200 pieces of sheet music spanning 1938 to 1923. Items include rally songs and manuscripts for copyright deposit from everyday citizens.

Interviews with civil rights activists Ellie Dahmer; Peggy Jean Connor; Raylawni G. Branch and Jeannette Smith, Clarence Magee; Eddie Holloway; Leesco Guster; Carolyn Miller and James Miller; and Charles McLaurin about their work, some of which involves voting rights. Many interviews include transcripts at the item level.

A collection of oral history interviews with civil rights activists about their work with voter registration. Activists include Doris Adelaide Derby, James Oscar Jones, Annie Pearl Avery, and more. Many interviews include transcripts at the item level.

Research guide about the Golden Flyer Suffragettes newspaper articles in Chronicling America highlighting key dates and links to search tips. Click “Search Strategies & Selected Articles” for links to relevant articles about the Golden Flyer Suffragettes.

Uses DPLA (Digital Public Library of America) Primary Source Sets to explore the campaign for women's suffrage through the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment.