It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
While some databases are focused on articles, some provide the ability to search for chemical compounds, molecules, reactions, etc. The databases below provide the ability to search for various structures, by name, composition, properties, and even by drawing your own. These features of these databases are more advanced than standard article searching, and questions regarding their use can be referred to both the library, and your instructors, who may have more chemistry specific knowledge.
Provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. Includes structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet. Searchable by name, synonym, CAS Registry Number, molecular formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and structure.
Scifinder-n is the most comprehensive source for citations to the literature of chemistry and related disciplines. It includes PatentPak, MethodsNowSynthesis, formulations, biosequence searching, and the RetroSynthesis Planner with predictive capabilities. It explores chemical substances by chemical names, structures, formulas, or CAS Registry Numbers and much more.
SpringerMaterials - The Landolt-Bornstein Database is a systematic database of selected and critically assessed data in the physical sciences. It provides access to more than 250,000 substances & material systems, 3,000 properties and more than 1,2 million literature references. Search for substances or element systems, properties, molecular formulas or CAS registry numbers.