It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Occupational Therapy by Alice J. Punwar; Suzanne M. PeloquinWritten in a casual, narrative style, this edition has been updated with five new chapters, new case studies, new clinical stories, and discussion questions focusing on ethical, legal, and interpersonal issues. The text introduces students to the field of occupational therapy and to career opportunities in the field. Using clinical examples and case studies, this edition provides a realistic look at the complementary roles of the registered occupational therapist (OTR) and the certified occupational therapy assistant (COTA). Occupational Therapy: Principles and Practice illustrates the OT process within various practice settings, including the acute care hospital, public school, and home health practice. Other topics include current and prospective issues in the field, the U.S. health care system, influences/implications of managed care on the profession, and the international OT market. All charts/tables reflect current statistics.This edition differs significantly from the earlier edition by the addition of a second author, Professor Suzanne Peloquin, PhD, a recognized authority in her field. Dr. Peloquin recounts stories from occupational therapy history and offers unique insights into current practice.
Call Number: RM735.4 .P86 2000
Publication Date: 2000-03-30
Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy by Crystal Gateley; Sherry BorcherdingOne of the most critical skills that occupational therapists must learn is effective documentation. With that idea in mind, Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy: Writing SOAP Notes, Fourth Edition presents a systematic approach to a standard form of health care documentation: the SOAP note. The clinical reasoning skills underlying SOAP note documentation can be adapted to fit the written or electronic documentation requirements of nearly any occupational therapy practice setting. This new Fourth Edition has been updated to reflect current information essential to contemporary occupational therapy practice, including the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain & Process, Third Edition. Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy, Fourth Edition also includes the COAST method, a specific format for writing occupation-based goals. Crystal Gateley and Sherry Borcherding use a "how-to" strategy by breaking up the documentation process into a step-by-step sequence. Numerous worksheets are provided to practice each individual skill as well as the entire SOAP note process. In addition, examples from a variety of practice settings are included as a reference. Although this text addresses documentation in occupational therapy practice, the concepts can be generalized across other health care disciplines as well. New in the Fourth Edition: The chapter focusing on reimbursement, legal, and ethical considerations has been vastly expanded to provide an overview of sources of reimbursement, regulatory guidelines, and legal and ethical issues. A new chapter focusing on electronic documentation has been added to illustrate how the concepts presented in this text can be used in various electronic documentation software products. Faculty will have access to 12 videos that can be used for instructional purposes and documentation practice. This edition includes an expanded Instructor's Manual with sample quiz questions for several of the chapters, templates and grading rubrics for documentation assignments, and other instructional resources. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy: Writing SOAP Notes, Fourth Edition presents essential documentation skills that all occupational therapy clinicians, faculty, and students will find critical for assessing, treating, and offering the best evidence available for their clients.
Ortho Notes by Dawn T. GulickEach joint tab features the information needed to progress from the initial assessment of the patient through the specific tests that will determine the plan of care. Illustrated anatomy-What are the bony landmarks. innervations, nerve roots and specific nerves? Medical Red Flag-Should treatment proceed or should the patient be referred to another medical professional? Toolbox Tests-How do you assess a patient's pain while doing everyday activities? Referral Patterns-Where does the pain start and where does it spread? Palpation-Where to palpate and how to assess the muscles? ROM-How do you assess the client's range of motion? Osteokinematics and Arthrokinematics-What do ROMs tell you about the patient's mobility? Strength and Function-What muscles and nerves make the muscle move and how does it move? Special Tests-What are the most commonly used tests and measures; how do you perform them and what are their sensitivity and specificity. The Alerts/Alarms tab includes charts and tables for patient management, medical conditions related to gender and age, vital signs, and abbreviations. The art program features photographs, line drawings, and overlays to enhance understanding of specific tests, palpation pearls, pain referral patterns, and trigger points. HIPAA-compliant, write-on/wipe off pages are reusable.
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Orthopedic Physical Assessment by David J. MageeNewly updated, this full-color resource offers a systematic approach to performing a neuromusculoskeletal assessment with rationales for various aspects of the assessment. This comprehensive text covers every joint of the body, head and face, gait, posture, emergency care, the principles of assessment, and preparticipation evaluation. The latest edition of this core text is the essential cornerstone in the new four-volume musculoskeletal rehabilitation series. Thorough, evidence-based review of orthopedic physical assessment covers everything from basic science through clinical applications and special tests. 2,400 illustrations include full-color clinical photographs and drawings as well as radiographs, depicting key concepts along with assessment techniques and special tests. The use of icons to show the clinical utility of special tests supplemented by evidence - based reliability & validity tables for tests & techniques on the Evolve site The latest research and most current practices keep you up to date on accepted practices. Evidence-based reliability and validity tables for tests and techniques on the EVOLVE site provide information on the diagnostic strength of each test and help you in selecting proven assessment tests. A Summary (Précis) of Assessment at the end of each chapter serves as a quick review of assessment steps for the structure or joint being assessed. Quick-reference data includes hundreds of at-a-glance summary boxes, red-flag and yellow-flag boxes, differential diagnosis tables, muscle and nerve tables, and classification, normal values, and grading tables. Case studies use real-world scenarios to help you develop assessment and diagnostic skills. Combined with other books in the Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation series - Pathology and Intervention, Scientific Foundations and Principles of Practice, and Athletic and Sport Issues - this book provides the clinician with the knowledge and background necessary to assess and treat musculoskeletal conditions. NEW! Online resources include video clips, assessment forms, text references with links to MEDLINE® abstracts, and more. NEW! Video clips demonstrate selected movements and the performance of tests used in musculoskeletal assessment. NEW! Text references linked to MEDLINE abstracts provide easy access to abstracts of journal articles for further review. NEW! Forms from the text with printable patient assessment forms can be downloaded for ease of use. NEW! Updated information in all chapters includes new photos, line drawings, boxes, and tables. NEW! The use of icons to show the clinical utility of special tests supplemented by evidence - based reliability & validity tables for tests & techniques on the Evolve site.
Call Number: Health Sciences Library Reference: BF76.7 .P83 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
**Available in the Health Sciences Library Reference
Clinically Oriented Anatomy by Keith L. Moore; Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. DalleyThe world's most trusted clinically focused anatomy text! Renowned for comprehensive coverage, the best-selling Clinically Oriented Anatomy guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. The eighth edition reflects significant new information and updates and maintains the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. Comprehensive updates reflect changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as new imaging technologies, focusing on the anatomy that students need to know. Extensively revised "Clinical Blue Boxes" explore the practical applications of anatomy, and helpful icons distinguish the type of clinical information covered in each. Clinically relevant anatomy focuses on physical diagnosis, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, with updates throughout , make this book an aesthetically rewarding learning resource. Combined with many photographs and medical images, these stunning visuals facilitate comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. New and updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Expanded "Overview and Basic Concepts" chapter includes functional systemic anatomy summaries and introduces approaches to studying anatomy, terminology, imaging, and more. Inclusion of new sections describing the enteric nervous system (considered by some as a "second brain") and its unique role in the innervation of the digestive system gives students cutting-edge insight into this significant scientific discovery. A more realistic approach to the musculoskeletal system explores the action and use of muscles and muscle groups in daily activities, emphasizing gait and grip. "Bottom Line" boxes summarize information to facilitate ongoing review and underscore the big-picture viewpoint. Clinical Blue Box animations, case studies, and interactive multiple-choice questions online at thePoint.lww.com facilitate review and self-testing.
Publication Date: 2017-09-13
Grant's Dissector by Alan J. DettonGrant's Dissector , Sixteenth Edition , now revised to meet the needs of today's gross anatomy dissection courses, remains the go-to guide for dissection in the anatomy lab. This classic manual provides step-by-step dissection procedures with the instruction and anatomical detail you need to recognize important relationships revealed through dissection. Each chapter is consistently organized beginning with a "Dissection Overview," followed by detailed "Dissection Instructions," and concluding with a "Dissection Follow-up." The Dissection Overview provides a blueprint of what you will accomplish during the dissection session, and includes relevant surface anatomy as well as concise coverage of osteology. Dissection Instructions offer a logical sequence and numbered steps for the dissection. The Dissection Follow-up emphasizes important features of the dissection and encourages you to reflect on and synthesize the information. Newly revised for easy-to-follow consistency throughout every chapter. Dissection Overviews now include numbered, step-by-step instructions to guide you through relevant surface anatomy and osteology. Each step in the Dissection Instructions has been carefully reworded to clarify and improve the dissection experience. More than 30 new summary tables provide an excellent review resource and make the dissection steps more task-oriented and concise. Dissection Follow-up sections now contain a numbered list of tasks to perform following the dissection. Revised abdominal wall and head dissection instructions offer effective new approaches to these complex anatomical regions. More than 100 modified or brand-new illustrations throughout. Conveniently cross-referenced to Grant's Atlas of Anatomy and three other unique atlases for appropriate illustrations of each anatomical area. Clinical Correlation boxes are integrated into instructions and provide context for health care practice.
Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy by Lynn S. Lippert; Mary AliceThe 5th Edition of this classic kinesiology text continues the tradition of presenting a very complicated topic in a clear, simple, and easy-to-understand manner. Bite size sections and over 500 full color illustrations show how various anatomical systems are connected and help you identify and see the connection between common pathologies associated with certain anatomical structures. Also available: Kinesiology in Action Digital-only Instant Access Money-Saving Package: Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy, 5th Edition + Kinesiology in Action (Access Card) Click here for a preview of the multimedia package that will help you apply your kinesiology content!
Clinical Research in Occupational Therapy, Sixth Edition by Martin S. Rice; Franklin Stein; George TomlinIn this new edition, Dr. George Tomlin joins Dr. Martin S. Rice and Dr. Franklin Stein to add expertise and knowledge of the occupational therapy field. With the combined knowledge and skills of the authors Clinical Research in Occupational Therapy, Sixth Edition includes many valuable updates and enables the graduate student and clinical researcher to carry out a research study from the formulation of a research hypothesis to collecting, analyzing, and interpreting data in user-friendly, step-by-step procedures. This Sixth Edition brings noteworthy changes, improvements, and enhancements, including the following: A thorough update of the published research in occupational therapy and health care Major revisions in all the chapters The addition of a new chapter on single-case experimental research Updated research boxes and contemporary examples of both quantitative and qualitative research Updated compilation of tests and evaluations used by occupation therapists in research studies as outcome instruments and for clinical assessments Revision and additions to the glossary of terms and statistics Updated examples of the institutional review board application forms Updated landmarks in the history of occupational therapy Updated interfacing example with a popular statistical software, including data organization analysis and interpretation Updated statistical tables Clinical Research in Occupational Therapy, Sixth Edition is a valuable resource for students, clinicians and researchers. The text can be used as a complete self-tutorial that provides the reader with the knowledge and skills to design and carry out a research project, from hypothesis through data collection and analysis. The text is written to help the reader evaluate the quality and rigor of research studies. The Sixth Edition incorporates recent research in occupational therapy to help the reader design a feasible research project and understand and appreciate the literature of the field.
Introduction to Orthotics by Brenda M. Coppard; Helene LohmanCovering the theory, design, and fabrication of orthopedic devices, Introduction to Orthotics, 4th Edition (formerly Introduction to Splinting, 3rd Edition) helps students develop the skills they need to choose and fit effective orthoses for patients with hand injuries and functional deficits. It emphasizes upper extremity splinting, with additional coverage of lower extremity orthotics and upper extremity prosthetics, and offers case studies promoting clinical reasoning and problem solving. This edition includes new chapters on orthotics of the shoulder and orthotic systems, plus online videos demonstrating fabrication and fitting techniques. Written by occupational therapy educators, this textbook/workbook is ideal for use in the classroom and as a practical resource in the clinical setting. How-To videos on the Evolve companion website let you watch the construction of orthotics again and again to increase your proficiency. Review questions and self-quizzes reinforce your comprehension of the material. Case studies in each chapter show how concepts relate to real-life clinical practice. Self-evaluation forms allow you to analyze your strengths and weaknesses related to new orthotic intervention techniques. Laboratory exercises test your clinical reasoning and technical skills. High-quality photos and line drawings illustrate key concepts and techniques. Combined textbook/workbook format makes it easier to develop fundamental skills in the theory, design, and fabrication of orthoses, Spiral binding lets the book lay flat when opened for convenient use while on the job. NEW! Fabrication processes appear in special boxes to allow for quick reference. NEW! Fabrication processes, forms, and grading sheets are included on the Evolve companion website, allowing you to create a personalized study guide. UPDATED content includes new case studies, references, evidence-based research tables, and more on the 'science' of orthotic intervention. NEW! Additional learning exercises show how to apply theory to practice. NEW! More integration of patient safety addresses this important aspect of patient care.
Physical Agent Modalities by Alfred G. BraccianoThe successful Physical Agent Modalities: Theory and Application for the Occupational Therapist has been updated and revised into a comprehensive Second Edition that logically provides a foundation for understanding the bio-physiological effects of physical agents and their impact on an individual's occupational performance and functioning. Recognized as an expert in physical agent modalities, Dr. Alfred Bracciano clearly and effectively explains difficult concepts in an easy-to-understand format and presents information that can be readily applied in the clinical setting. Physical Agent Modalities, Second Edition provides the occupational therapist and student with a user-friendly and organized reference on the application of physical agent modalities, commonly used by occupational therapists, as well as emerging technologies and interventions such as lasers and electromyographic biofeedback. This Second Edition outlines the application procedures for each modality, indications for their use, and the precautions and contraindications of the modality. New graphics and pictures enhance the reader's understanding of the physical agents, while case studies facilitate clinical reasoning and provide a practical resource to safely and effectively understand and use physical agents. New to the Second Edition: * A chapter outlining a theoretical framework for physical agent modalities used by occupational therapists based on the AOTA Occupational Therapy Practice Framework * Extensive coverage of the changes in state regulatory issues and guidelines impacting the use of physical agents by occupational therapists * A discussion on the impact of the revised AOTA PAM Position Paper, NBCOT Practice Analysis, and the ACOTE requirements on the education and training of occupational therapists in physical agent modalities * A chapter reviewing laser and light therapy, clinical applications, precautions, and indications for use Each Chapter Contains: * Objectives * Glossary of Key Terms * Case Studies * References With a user-friendly format, updated chapters, and volumes of new information, Physical Agent Modalities: Theory and Application for the Occupational Therapist, Second Edition provides clinicians, educators, and students with a common language to facilitate the incorporation of physical agents into clinical practice grounded in evidence-based practice.
My Stroke of Insight by Jill Bolte TaylorThe astonishing New York Times bestseller that chronicles how a brain scientist's own stroke led to enlightenment On December 10, 1996, Jill Bolte Taylor, a thirty-seven- year-old Harvard-trained brain scientist experienced a massive stroke in the left hemisphere of her brain. As she observed her mind deteriorate to the point that she could not walk, talk, read, write, or recall any of her life-all within four hours-Taylor alternated between the euphoria of the intuitive and kinesthetic right brain, in which she felt a sense of complete well-being and peace, and the logical, sequential left brain, which recognized she was having a stroke and enabled her to seek help before she was completely lost. It would take her eight years to fully recover. For Taylor, her stroke was a blessing and a revelation. It taught her that by "stepping to the right" of our left brains, we can uncover feelings of well-being that are often sidelined by "brain chatter." Reaching wide audiences through her talk at the Technology, Entertainment, Design (TED) conference and her appearance on Oprah's online Soul Series, Taylor provides a valuable recovery guide for those touched by brain injury and an inspiring testimony that inner peace is accessible to anyone.
Ethical Dimensions in the Health Professions by Ruth B. Purtilo; Regina F. DohertyLearn to recognize, understand, and resolve ethical problems in the workplace with Ethical Dimensions in the Health Professions, 6th Edition. Ideal for all practicing and aspiring healthcare professionals, this unique text gives readers a solid foundation in basic ethical theory, the terms and concepts of ethics, and the numerous ethical issues surrounding health care today. The new sixth edition centers on the six-step decision-making process and includes expanded patient case studies and an increased emphasis on working within inter-professional care teams toward the resolution of ethical problems. With all of its tools and guidance, Ethical Dimensions gives readers the framework needed to make ethical and effective choices in the workplace. UNIQUE! Process of ethical decision-making provides readers with an organizing framework to use in making the best decisions in the face of ethical problems. Reflection boxes highlight important concepts and stimulate critical thinking. Patient stories depict real-life situations and demonstrate the ethical decision-making process. Summary boxes offer a quick review of the important information in each section. Content on current laws and institutional policies make readers aware of their legal responsibilities as well as their ethical ones. Questions for thought and discussion encourage readers to apply the ethical decision-making process to different situations. NEW! Expanded patient stories include current innovations and issues in ethics. NEW! Additional content on interprofessional team decision-making reflects an important expanding movement in healthcare nationally and internationally.
Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy by Marilyn B. ColeIn occupational therapy practice, well designed groups represent social and cultural contexts for occupational performance in everyday life. Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy: The Theoretical Basis and Practice Application of Group Intervention, the best-selling text for over 25 years by Marilyn B. Cole, has been updated to a Fifth Edition, offering strategies and learning tools to place clients in effective groups for enhanced therapeutic interventions. Updated to meet the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition, this Fifth Edition provides guidelines for occupational therapy group design and leadership and guides application of theory-based groups. The theory section clarifies how occupation based models and frames of reference change the way occupational therapy groups are organized and how theory impacts the selection of group activities, goals, and outcomes. Recent examples and evidence are added in this Fifth Edition to reflect the design and use of groups for evaluation and intervention within the newly evolving paradigm of occupational therapy. The third section focuses on the design of group protocols and outlines a series of group experiences for students. These are intended to provide both personal and professional growth, as well as a format for practice in group leadership, self-reflection, cultural competence, and community service learning. A new chapter focusing on the recovery model and trauma-informed care suggests ways for occupational therapists to design group interventions within these broadly defined approaches. Cole's 7-step format for occupational therapy group leadership provides a concrete, user-friendly learning experience for students to design and lead theory based groups. The settings for which students can design group interventions has been updated to include current and emerging practice settings. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. With a client-centered theoretical approach, Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy: The Theoretical Basis and Practice Application of Group Intervention, Fifth Edition continues a 25-year tradition of education for occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant students and clinicians.
Psychosocial Conceptual Practice Models in Occupational Therapy by Moses N. Ikiugu; Elizabeth A. Ciaravino (Contribution by)This book examines the occupational therapy paradigm (its focal viewpoint, core constructs, and values) as well as the role of complexity/chaos theory as a scientific framework for occupational therapy research and practice. Unlike other current OT texts, this book uses clinical case examples to illustrate application of proposed changes to make procedures consistent with the latest Occupational Therapy Practice Framework. The reader walks away with a clear grasp of the theoretical principles guiding his or her treatment interventions, the explanations behind those principles, and the applicable intervention for said techniques and procedures. An emphasis on clinical-reasoning skills, including information on different types of reasoning skills as well as the MAPP model of teaching helps the student and clinician translate theoretical principles into practice. The section on specific interventions addresses each of the conceptual practice models according to a consistent chapter template, which enables the reader to apply conceptual practice models in real-world contexts. Preview questions at the beginning of each chapter alert the reader to important concepts in the upcoming text. Critical analysis of the theoretical core provides suggested modifications to increase consistency with the new occupational therapy paradigm.
Call Number: RC487 .I33 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-25
Essentials of Assistive Technologies by Albert M. Cook; Janice Miller PolgarMaster the assistive strategies you need to make confident clinical decisions and help improve the quality of life for people with disabilities with this new essentials text. Based on the Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) model developed by Dr. Cook, the book provides the most important coverage of the devices, services, and practices that comprise assistive technology and focuses on the relationship between the human user and the assisted activity within specific contexts. Case studies, illustrations of assistive devices, review questions, and well-developed learning objectives help you focus on the most important areas of assistive technology application. UNIQUE! OTA focus provides you with the specific information occupational therapy assistants need to know to implement and utilize assistive technologies. Comprehensive coverage includes all areas of assistive technologies. The AT industry A historical perspective on the industry Relevant legislation Issues of professional practice Service delivery in assistive technologies General purpose assistive technologies Specific areas of application for assistive technologies And more Content derived from market leader gives you similar chapters and organization to the Principles text, but has more of a focus on the practical skills and knowledge needed for the implementation of AT.
Publication Date: 2011-12-19
Occupation-Based Activity Analysis by Heather ThomasOccupational therapists use occupations and activities as not just a goal, but also as a treatment medium, therefore, they must understand both the uniqueness of a client's occupations and how an activity can be used therapeutically. To analyze the complexity of an occupation takes much more depth of understanding of the person engaging in it, his or her environment, and the uniqueness of the occupation a person has chosen. The new Second Edition of Occupation-Based Activity Analysis continues the tradition of teaching students and clinicians the process of conducting activity analyses and occupation-based activity analyses. Dr. Heather Thomas has updated Occupation-Based Activity Analysis, Second Edition to reflect the significant changes made to the activity analysis process and terminology in the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition. As in an activity analysis, occupation-based activity analysis looks at what is required for full participation, yet goes beyond analyzing the activity; it looks at what it means for the person engaging in it and how and where it is performed by that person. Inside Occupation-Based Activity Analysis, Second Edition, each chapter is dedicated to a component of the activity analysis process and corresponding section of the Framework. Chapters have been restructured based on a greater emphasis on occupation-based activity analysis. From start to finish, readers are guided through identifying the occupation, sequence and timing, objects and properties, space and social demands, body functions, and structures and performance skills required. New in the Second Edition: Chapters throughout the text have been updated to reflect the changes in the Framework A new chapter to reflect the new addition to the Activity Demands section of the Framework Changes in terminology and definitions in the areas of occupation, performance skills, and body functions Additional activities provided at the end of each chapter Appendices and forms have been updated to reflect the changes in the Framework Images have been updated with greater clarity and resolution Updated and new instructor materials for faculty to use in the classroom Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used for teaching in the classroom. As a foundational skill, activity analysis and occupation-based activity analysis is utilized throughout students' careers and into their lives as practitioners, making Occupation-Based Activity Analysis, Second Edition the perfect textbook for the occupational therapy or occupational therapy assistant student, faculty, or clinician.
Publication Date: 2015-06-15
Vision, Perception, and Cognition by Barbara ZoltanVision Perception and Cognition, Fourth Edition is a concisely structured text that expertly addresses clinical reasoning and decision making for the entire evaluation and treatment process of the adult with acquired brain injury. Provided are theoretical information, guidelines for both static and dynamic assessment, information on specific standardized evaluations, guidelines for adaptive and restorative treatment based on described theoretical and evidence-based information, and information on environmental impact of client performance. Inside this best-selling book, Barbara Zoltan, MA, OTR/L addresses visual, perceptual, and cognitive evaluation and treatment, providing structure, clarity, and content suitable for both students and experienced clinicians. Updated and expanded to reflect current practice and relevant research, Vision, Perception, and Cognition, Fourth Edition is a unique resource that takes the reader from theory to practice in a practical and detailed way. Students and clinicians will benefit from the numerous tables, figures, and extensive references presented throughout the text, as well as the inclusion of a glossary, for easy reference to terminology used throughout Vision, Perception, and Cognition, Fourth Edition. Faculty will be impressed by the addition of an on-line instructor's manual for additional classroom learning objectives and activities. Component areas covered include: * Primary visual skills * Apraxia and agnosia * Visual discrimination skills * Orientation * Attention * Memory * Self-awareness and monitoring * Planning and organization * Problem solving and decision making * Categorization * Mental flexibility * Abstraction * Generalization and transfer * Acalculia New topics addressed in this Fourth Edition: * Constraint-induced therapy * Brain plasticity/Functional reorganization * Neuroimaging * Specific occupation-based models and evaluations * Contextual influence on client performance * Client-centered practice * Client learning capacity * Clinical reasoning * Interviewing * Standardization * Visual vestibular processing * Pupillary response * Contrast sensitivity Whether you are a student or clinician in the area of occupational therapy, physical therapy, neuropsychology, optometry, or speech pathology, Vision, Perception, and Cognition: A Manual for the Evaluation and Treatment of the Adult with Acquired Brain Injury, Fourth Edition will continue to be an invaluable resource for exploring theory and practice in the evaluation and treatment processes.
Call Number: RC387.5 .Z65 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-18
The Intentional Relationship by Renee R. Taylor; Renèe TaylorIntroduces a new conceptual practice model that defines the communication skills, values, reasoning processes, and interpersonal behaviors required to form a unique and effective relationship between client and therapist. Identifies six easy-to-apply modes of communication --Advocating * Collaborating * Empathizing * Encouraging * Instructing * Problem solving. Highlights intentional relationship models through case studies. Uses self-reflection exercises and assessments to allow readers to test their knowledge and reflect upon chapter content as it relates directly to clinical practice experience.
Publication Date: 2008-01-07
Occupational Therapy Manager by Karen Jacobs; Guy L. McCormackIn todays health care environment, occupational therapy practitioners in clinical and leadership positions must be prepared to ensure that clients receive the highest quality of care; staff morale and efficiency remain high; businesses and organizations are profitable; and the profession is recognized by other health care professionals, reimbursers, and clients as a valuable service steeped in evidence. The Occupational Therapy Manager, 5th Edition can help occupational therapy practitioners become capable, effective leaders across all practice settings. This new edition includes 37 new and updated chapters, discussing the how-to aspects of creating evidence-based practices; effectively leading and motivating staff; ensuring ethical service delivery; and important day-to-day items such as budgeting, documentation, and reimbursement. Chapters also are updated to reflect health care reform and its potential effects on occupational therapy. Highlights Include-- *Section I: Defining and Rethinking Management *Section II: Strategic Planning *Section III: Leading and Organizing *Section IV: Controlling Outcomes *Section V: Public Policy, Professional Standards, and Collaboration *Section VI: Supervision *Appendixes--Occupational Therapy Code of Ethics and Ethics Standards, Scope of Practice, and more The Occupational Therapy Manager is the best-selling and most comprehensive management book in the profession and is a fundamental, classic text for all occupational therapy students, practitioners, and managers.
Ergonomics for Therapists by Karen JacobsErgonomics for Therapists, 3rd Edition is a comprehensive introduction to ergonomics in the workplace. Thoroughly revised with the latest ergonomic techniques and strategies, this reader-friendly resource gives you the foundation you need to help clients maximize efficiency and prevent workplace injuries before they occur. Reader-friendly approach makes complex material easier to grasp. Client-centered framework helps you understand the client's critical role in maintaining an ergonomically sound environment. 6 new chapters give you vital scientific support for the latest ergonomic developments in: Macroergonomics Ergonomics/Work Assessments Ergonomics for Children and Youth in the Educational Environment Ergonomics of Aging Ergonomics of Play and Leisure Entrepreneurship Revised Cognitive and Behavioral Occupational Demands of Work, Physical Environment, and Certifications and Professional Associations in Ergonomics report key changes so you can provide your clients with the most current approaches to critical areas and ensure professional success. Case studies and learning exercises in every chapter test your ability to apply principles and solve problems in realistic scenarios. Learning objectives, glossary boxes, and review questions identify the most important concepts in each chapter and make learning more focused and effective. New photographs and illustrations help you implement what you've learned by demonstrating ergonomics in action.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007-07-30
Work by G. Adolph Ackerman; Jill J. Page; Brent BravemanCase examples at the beginning of each chapter introduce key issues and problems with their resolutions at the end of the chapter. Overviews and summaries of key theories, models and evidence reflect the primary focus of the chapter. Tables, figures and text boxes reinforce and highlight key concepts. Photographs help in the visualization of settings, equipment, and actions. Each chapter emphasizes comprehensive assessment and intervention and the role of the occupational therapy practitioner on the interdisciplinary team. Consistently-organized chapters focus on important and specialized areas of occupational therapy assessment and intervention, including... Psychosocial and physical assessment and preventative programming. Application of the Americans with Disability Act. Assisting the older worker. Persons with permanent disabilities. Alternative approaches to promoting work productivity and participation such as volunteerism. Occupational therapy language and concepts integrated throughout, including the International Classification of Function (ICF) and the Social Model of Disability. Appendices reference current resources for additional information.
Applied Theories in Occupational Therapy by Marilyn B. Cole; Roseanna TufanoApplied Theories in Occupational Therapy: A Practical Approach, Second Edition provides a system-based, comprehensive overview of the theories, models, and frames of reference that influence occupational therapy around the world. Esteemed authors Marilyn B. Cole and Roseanna Tufano have updated their foundational text with an evidence-based focus derived from their experiences of more than 30 years teaching theoretical content to students. Applied Theories in Occupational Therapy: A Practical Approach, Second Edition offers practical templates to help readers learn the key constructs of each theory and assimilate knowledge based on Mosey's organizational structure. Each theory-based chapter is designed for ease in gathering content knowledge and comparing theories in a distinctive manner. The book includes: Summaries of the current trends found in practice, along with external influential models of health and wellness impacting populations of concern Exploration of some of the most common occupation-based models around the world. Each model's holistic conceptual nature is described, including theoretical assumptions and practice guidelines for evaluation and intervention Reviews of common frames of reference found in evidence-based practice, which address the secondary and tertiary needs of common populations In this Edition, learning activities and case-based analyses strengthen the application of theory into current practice contexts. Practical guidelines assist the reader in formulating an evaluation process and determining the relevant intervention strategies that promote occupational participation, engagement, and functioning across the lifespan and the continuum of health. Instructors in educational settings can visitwww.efacultylounge.com for additional education material to be used for teaching in the classroom.
Publication Date: 2019-12-03
The Library does not have ALL of your books
In some cases you may have to rent, purchase, or borrow a text. Feel free to search E-ZBorrow for a text to see if you can borrow it from another library for free.