Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask A Librarian

Emergency Medicine

A guide with helpful resources for Emergency Medicine program's students, faculty, and staff.

Helpful Tips

Group Your Citations

By default, all new references go into the Unfiled group. You can create up to 5,000 groups to organize your citations however works for you!

  • Click on the Organize tab, "Manage My Groups" (opens by default)
  • Click New Group, type in the name, and click okay

Or you can:

  • Click on My References 
  • Select which articles you want to group together
  • Click the Add to group... drop down menu
  • Add selected items to a new or existing group 

All My References drop down menu add to group

Easy Access to Articles

  • You can return to the record of any item in your collection by clicking on the Find It @ WVU icon. 

Look for this  Screenshot of the Find It @ WVU Libraries Link

  • You can also attach files to a record (up to 5 per item), even full-text PDFs!
    • Use the Paper Clip icon  in the record or in "Manage My References," and attach the file you want. 

Sharing Your Citations

Collaborating on research? You can easily share your citations with your collaborators!

  1. Click on the Organize Tab
  2. Select the citation group you want to share by checking the box next to the group in the Share column
  3. Click on Manage Sharing
  4. Click on Start Sharing this Group. A dialog box will open, and enter the email address(es) of who you would like to share the collection with, and then click Apply

Congratulations! You and your research partners can now share a citation collection. 

What is EndNote Basic?

EndNote Basic (or EndNote Web) is a convenient tool to help you sort, store, and most importantly cite sources for your papers. They have tools to help you write in-text citations, create your bibliography, and even match your manuscript to a scientific journal. The Basic account lets you save up to 50,000 references. 

Create an Account:

Step 1: Go to EndNote Basic

Step 2: Click on "Don't have an account? Sign Up"

  • You must use your WVU email address. 

Step 3: Install the Plug-Ins

  • Click on the Downloads tab in EndNote
  • Cite While You Write™ Plug-In allows you to insert references, and format citations and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers in Word.
  • Capture Reference helps you automatically import references into your EndNote Library

Trust me, you want to do this. It will save you time and work in the future. You can thank me later!

Adding Citations

Click on the a resource for instruction how to use it to add items to EndNote Basic.

Web of Science

  1. Click on the title of an item in Web of Science
  2. Click on Save to EndNote Online just above the title of the item
  3. When the box opens up you can choose Full Record and click Send

Try it Out:

  • Web of Science
    Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Capture Reference

Please note that the Capture Reference tool will not work in every database and should only be used as option if you want to add a website or if you are not able to download and import the reference.

Adding Capture Reference to your Browser

  1. Drag the Capture Reference link below into the bookmarks bar of your browser.
  2. You can also download the Google Chrome extension from the Google Chrome Store.

Import with Capture Reference

  1. When you are on a website or in the record of an item that you would like to add, click on the Capture Reference bookmark.
  2. A dialog box will open and the item's information should populate the list.
  3. Click on the Save to button to add the item to EndNote.

EbscoHost Database

  1. Click on the title of an item in an EbscoHost Database
  2. In the right-hand column under Tools select Export and choose Export to EndNote Web

Try it Out

  • EbscoHost Databases
    EBSCOhost databases are cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines." Select some or all of the databases and check the boxes to limit results to [Black and White Photograph] or [Color Photograph]

Proquest Databases

  1. Click on the title of an item in a Proquest Database
  2. On the right-hand side of the page in the grey box click on Save and choose RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc)
  3. When the citation has finished downloading. Open up EndNote and click on the tab Collect and the choose Import References
    • File: Browse the computer the locate the file you save. Or you can drag the file into the box.
    • Import Option: Select Proquest
    • To: Select the group you would like to add the file to or leave it as unfiled

Try it Out

  • Proquest Databases
    All Proquest databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines.

Worldcat Discovery

  1. Click on the title of the item in Worldcat Discovery
  2. Click on Cite in the top right-hand corner of the record
  3. Choose Export to EndNote
  4. When the citation has finished downloading. Open up EndNote and click on the tab Collect and the choose Import References
    • File: Browse the computer the locate the file you save. Or you can drag the file into the box.
    • Import Option: Select RefMan RIS***
    • To: Select the group you would like to add the file to or leave it as unfiled

Try it Out

  • WVU WorldCat
    WVU Libraries online catalog; use it to find books, articles, periodicals, microforms, and A/V media owned by the libraries.

Google Scholar

Set up Google Scholar

  1. Click on the Menu Button in the top left-hand corner
  2. Choose Settings
  3. Under Bibliography Settings click on Show links to import citations into
  4. Choose Refman and click on Save

Import with Google Scholar

  1. On your Results page click on the link for Import into RefMan underneath the items description.
  2. A Choose Destination Box will open. Select EndNote Web and click ok.

If the Choose Destination Box does not open

  1. When the citation has finished downloading. Open up EndNote and click on the tab Collect and the choose Import References
    • File: Browse the computer the locate the file you save. Or you can drag the file into the box.
    • Import Option: Select RefMan RIS***
    • To: Select the group you would like to add the file to or leave it as unfiled

Try it Out

  • Google Scholar
    Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

PubMed

  1. Click on the title of the item you would like to add
  2. Click on Send to in the top right-hand corner of the page.
  3. Under Choose Destination choose Citation Manager and click on Create File
  4. When the citation has finished downloading. Open up EndNote and click on the tab Collect and the choose Import References
    • File: Browse the computer the locate the file you save. Or you can drag the file into the box.
    • Import Option: Select PubMed NLM***
    • To: Select the group you would like to add the file to or leave it as unfiled

Try it Out

  • PubMed
    PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.