Research Guides: Barbie ™: Tools and navigation

discover content by topic

explore gender databases

Explore gender studies databases

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of scholarly and popular lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender publications, plus historically important primary sources, including books, magazines and newspapers.

other useful databases

Explore other useful databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Links to library electronic resources are available to WVU students and faculty.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and high-quality images. It has an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. Images are contributed by universities, museums, and community and private collections. JSTOR is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers North American (US and Canadian) history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews. America: History and Life covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to hundreds of academic journals and books. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Public Health is designed to be the starting point for public health information and research. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text and covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

fact checking

Snopes-ing 101: the Fact-Checkers' Toolbox Research tips and tricks from the fact-checkers at Snopes

Investigate the source

Use lateral reading. You may learn about a website by leaving the site itself
- Open multiple windows and do searches for the website's
  - reviews
  - publisher or organization
  - page author
  - topics or terms you are not familiar with
Seek and compare reports from multiple sources
- search sources on the WVU Libraries Finding Real News page
Fact check statements when statements are made without citing a source and seek verification from multiple sources
- Sample fact checking sites
Do you know the expertise and agenda of the source?
- Fact check like a pro with the WVU Libraries Resources for spotting fake news

news, newspapers, and fact checking

Newspapers

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Access World News Research Collection (formerly America's News) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface. Includes 26 resources from West Virginia.
West Virginia Newspapers from Newsbank (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot) This link opens in a new window
Includes the Dominion Post (Morgantown), Charleston Gazette, Charleston Daily Mail, Herald Dispatch (Huntington). Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.

Barbie ™

discover content by topic

EBSCO Discovery | Search articles, books, journals & more

explore gender databases

Explore gender studies databases

other useful databases

Explore other useful databases

fact checking

news, newspapers, and fact checking

Newspapers

Recommended news agencies online