This guide brings together WVU Libraries resources for the study of chemistry.
Find things. Look things up using library-paid resources.
- The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Provides broad coverage of all types of physical science data commonly encountered by scientists and engineers. It presents the major tables of numerical data in the form of interactive tables that can be sorted, filtered, and combined in various ways.
- Merck Index
The Royal Society of Chemistry's Merck Index is a source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. The advanced search offers a number of ways to discover chemicals using both text and properties. Researchers may also search by structure and named reactions.
- eEROS (electronic Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
Enables the user to find the most suitable reagent for performing particular reactions. A variety of searching options are available conducted in both query text and structure driven modes. Search by keywords and phrases (full text), reagent name, reaction name, catalyst name, solvent name, product yield, temperature, authors, reference, publication year, structure, reaction.
- Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Identifies development paths for technologies critical to research at atomic, molecular, and macromolecular levels ranging from 1-100 nanometers. Fields involved range from materials and surface science, chemistry, and biomedicine to computer technology, information processing, and mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering
- Kirk-Othmer Online
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are addressed.
Find things. Look things up using web pages.
ChemSpider is the rich source of structure-based chemistry information. It is a free access service providing a structure-centric community for chemists. ChemSpider provides access to millions of chemical structures and integration with a multitude of other online services.
- ChemTube3D-Interactive 3D Organic Reaction Mechanisms
ChemTube3D contains interactive 3D animations for some of the most important organic reactions covered during an undergraduate chemistry degree with supporting information on reactivity and spectroscopy. Sponsored by Liverpool University.
- SciTopics - Research Summaries by Experts
Distilled, authoritative and up-to-date information for researchers on scientific, technical and medical
* are written by scientific experts
* facilitate knowledge sharing
* provide the latest and most relevant journal and web results
You may search this database of "chemicals available in the world" by registry number, molecular formula or by chemical name or synonyms in different languages. It also includes a drawing tool.
- The Periodic Table
This site offers quick, easy factual information and images of the elements, including extensive nuclear and other technical data about the elements. By "mousing" over an element on the table, users can view basic information, such as its atomic weight, density, and melting point and its representative image.
- Laboratory Techniques Videos
These videos demonstrate various techniques to use in the organic chemistry laboratory. From the University of Alberta (Canada)
- Chemical Register
Compilation of chemical suppliers which enables buyers to find manufacturers by price and capacity of commodity. Search specialty chemicals by name or CAS registry number. Site includes new projects, free magazines, jobs, news and events.
From off-campus locations, you will be prompted to enter a username and password when you select a resource.
Username = MyID username (usually the same as the MIX username). Check for MyID username here.
Check here for help with MyID.
The ACS style Guide : Effective Communication of Scientific Information is the standard for determining how to cite sources. The Libraries own print copies of various editions. The most recent edition, 2006, is available on the sixth floor and with the call number QD8.5 .A25 2006. This copy can be checked out. There is also a copy in the Reference Collection.
The University of Wisconsin, Madison, Libraries provides ACS style guidelines. For a source not listed here, you will want to consult the print copy.
The American Chemical Society (ACS) lists the skills needed by students studying chemistry.