Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian

Chicago Citation Style Guide

A quick guide to Chicago-style citations

Print Book, One Author

Note-Bibliography

Note:

Note #. First-name Last-name, Title of Book, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page #. 

Example:

     3. Kevin Mitnick, Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker, (New York: Little, Brown and Co., 2011) 47.

Short Note:

Note #. Last-name, Shortened Title, Page #.

Example:

4. Mitnick, Ghost in the Wires, 102.

Bibliography Entry:

Last-name, First-name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Mitnick, Kevin. Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker. New York: Little, Brown
     and Co. 2011.

Author-Date

Text Citation:

(Last-name Year)

Example:

(Mitnick 2011)

Reference:

Last-name, First-name. Year. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Example:

Mitnick, Kevin. 2011. Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted HackerNew York: Little, 
     Brown and Co.

Print Book Chapter

  • These examples are for chapters or parts of works in which the chapters or parts have individual titles and author/s, but are included in collections or textbooks edited by others
  • If the editors of a work are also the authors of all of the chapters, then it should be cited as a regular book
  • The title of the chapter or part and the book title are both given maximal capitalisation
  • The title of the chapter or part is enclosed in quotation marks

 Note-Bibliography

Note:

     Footnote #. First-name Last-name, “Title of Chapter,” in Title of Book, ed. Editor’s First-name Last-name (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Example:

     5. Ed Wood, “The Many Uses of Angora,” in Dress for Success, ed. Tom Johnson (Hollywood, CA: Paramount,
1957), 213.

Short Note:

Footnote #. Last-name, “Shortened Title,” page #

Example:

6. Wood, “The Many Uses,” 216.

Bibliography Entry:

Last-name, First-name. “Title of Chapter.” in Title of Book, edited by Editor’s First-name Last-Name, pages of chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Wood, Ed. “The Many Uses of Angora.” In Dress for Success, edited by Tom Johnson, 213 – 36. Hollywood, CA: Paramount, 1957.

Author-Date

Text Citation:

(Last-name Year)

Example:

(Wood 1957)

Reference Entry:

Author of  Part. Year. "Title of Chapter or Part." In Title of Book, Edition, edited by A. Editor and B. Editor, inclusive page 
     numbers. Place of publication: Publisher.

Example:

Wood, Ed. 1957. “The Many Uses of Angora.” In Dress for Success, edited by Tom Johnson, 213 – 36. Hollywood, 
     CA: Paramount.

Print Book, 2-3 Authors

Note-Bibliography

Note:

Note #. First-name Last-name and First-name Last-name. Title of Book, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page #. 

Example:

     3. Simon Constable and Robert E. Wright, The Wall Street Journal Guide to the 50 Economic Indicators that Really Matter: From Big Macs to "Zombie Banks," the Indicators Smart Investors Watch to Beat the Market, (New York: Harper Business, 2011), 23.

Short Note:

Note #. Last-name, Shortened Title, Page #.

Example:

6. Constable and Wright, 50 Economic Indicators, 23.

Bibliography Entry:

Last-name, First-name and First-name Last-name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Constable, Simon and Robert E. Wright. The Wall Street Journal Guide to the 50 Economic Indicators that Really
     Matter: From Big Macs to "Zombie Banks," the Indicators Smart Investors Watch to Beat the Market
. New
     York: Harper Business, 2011.

Author-Date

  • Cite all authors in every citation
  • Separate author names using and

Text Citation:

(Last-name and Last-name Year)

Example:

(Constable and Wright 2011)

Reference Entry:

Last-name, First-name and First-name Last-name. Year. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Example:

Constable, Simon and Robert E. Wright. 2011. The Wall Street Journal Guide to the 50 Economic Indicators that 
     Really Matter: From Big Macs to "Zombie Banks," the Indicators Smart Investors Watch to Beat the Market

     New York: Harper Business.

Print Book, More Than 3 Authors

Note-Bibliography

First Note:

Note #. First-name Last-name et al., Title of Book, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page #. 

Example:

     3. Oscar Diamond et al., How to Care for Your Diabetic Cat, (New York:
Knopf, 2000), 13.

Short Note:

Note #. Last-name, Shortened Title, Page #.

Example:

4. Diamond et al., How to Care, 13.

Bibliography Entry:

In the bibliography, list all authors in the same order as for 1 & 2-author titles.

Last-name, First-name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Diamond, Oscar, Misha Jones, Seamus Harper, and Sydney Fox. How to Care for Your Diabetic Cat. New York:
     Knopf, 2000.

Author-Date

For more than three authors (or in some science publications, more than two), only the last name name of the first author is used in text citations, followed by et al. (and others). Note that et al. is not italicized in text citations.

Text Citation:

(Last-name et al. Year)

Example:

(Diamond et al. 2000)

Reference Entry:

For treatment of multiple authors in a bibliography or reference list, see 14.7615.9.

Last-name, First-name, First-name Last name, First-name Last-name, and First-name Last-name. Year. Title of Book. 
     Place of Publication: Publisher.

Example:

Diamond, Oscar, Misha Jones, Seamus Harper, and Sydney Fox. 2000. How to Care for Your Diabetic Cat. New 
     York: Knopf.

Books with Editors, Translators, Compliers, etc.

Note-Bibliography

Note:

Note #. First-name Last-name, abbrev., Title of Book, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page #. 

Example:

3. Oscar Diamond, ed., How to Care for Your Diabetic Cat, (New York: Knopf, 2000), 13.

Short Note:

For works listed by editor(s) or compiler(s) or translator(s), abbreviations such as ed. or eds., comp. or comps., or trans. following the name are omitted in short notes.

Note #. Last-name, Shortened Title, Page #.

Example:

4. Diamond, How to Care, 13.

Bibliography Entry:

Last-name, First-name, abbrev.. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Diamond, Oscar, ed.. How to Care for Your Diabetic Cat. New York: Knopf, 2000.

Author-Date

For works listed by editor(s) or compiler(s) or translator(s) in a reference list, abbreviations such as ed. or eds., comp. or comps., or trans. following the name are omitted in text citations.

Text Citation:

(Last-name Year)

Example:

(Oates and Atwan 2001)

Reference Entry:

Last-name, First-name, Role. Year. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Example:

Oates, Joyce Carol and Robert Atwan, eds. 2001. The Best American Essays of the Century. Boston: Mariner.